Dancing in Love

C Castillo
La Jeunesse
Published in
1 min readMar 28, 2014

We hiked up the grey mountain. Not but a weed amongst the rocks. Together we hummed and bantered our way upward. A chipper brown squirrel, and a stubbed toe kept one or two of the gaggle behind. One black evening, the flock rested like graceful geese. I rose early to walk alone, in search of a pretty poppy or red persimmon.

Suddenly, I stepped onto the plateau of the mountain. A grassy field, abundant with daisies and magnolias. In the center, a round blue pond, with rabbits and blue birds perched on the lip. In awe, I stood gazing.

My search ended there.

As the sun rose over the mountain’s edge, I imagined my friends miles down, rising for the morning meal.

To lean over the edge and shout? “Come up, come up here now!”

Urgency, could spoil their appetites…

To run down and bring them up here?

The terror and fight they’d put up to renounce a casual stroll and laughter…

With a warning, would the sweetness remain? To find the great garden for ourselves…

A rustle… Far off in the shadows of green bushes.

Another traveler, has found this place. I smile, at this moment, we dip our feet in the aqua waters of the pond. Again, I imagine, the peak of the mountain. I see the valleys surrounding, who may see our silhouettes.

To dance, with joy, seems the only thing to do. In our arms, we twirl. We sing in celebration. Dusk falls, the stars shine in the deep blue sky.

I imagine nothing more.

--

--