Mother’s Day Is an Occasion I’d Prefer to Forget, Not Celebrate

Some things are better left in the past.

Marilyn Regan
Unapologetically Real

--

Photo by Jackie Tan on Unsplash

Mother’s Day is a Hallmark holiday invented to sell cards. And for those of you who receive them, congratulations. You’re ahead in the game.

For many, it is a day of expectation and disappointment and another day to grieve mothers who have passed. Or worse, children who have passed.

A day to wait for something that will never come.

A day to cringe every time someone chirps, “Happy Mother’s Day!” What is that supposed to mean anyway?

I stay away from those happy Facebook posts “celebrating” a day that honors mothers. Why rub it in my own face?

It’s a day of memories I’d prefer to forget, but can’t because Mother’s Day is in my face everywhere I turn. It begins a week before the blessed event and then won’t go away for a full 24-hours.

My First Mother’s Day

I was the mother of a beautiful, three-month-old baby boy on my first Mother’s Day in May 1987.

Motherhood had not been easy. I quit a job I loved to care for my son full-time, lived in an isolated country neighborhood, had no money, and was alone, sometimes for an entire day.

--

--

Marilyn Regan
Unapologetically Real

Marilyn is a writer, yogi, and spiritual medium. Her favorite people are animals, especially ones that meow. She loves the ocean and hates one-use plastic.