Mariyam Haider
Unarchived Writings
1 min readSep 5, 2016

--

Teacher’s Day

This is perhaps the last academic year of my life. It makes me extremely glad to know that I’ve had the chance to study under some amazing teachers beginning from middle school until graduate school. The scope of subjects that I have studied till date is spread far and wide, and that has given me the opportunity to study under giants in their respective fields. From Science to Commerce to Journalism to Public Policy, it has been an adventure of sorts to learn and unlearn as well. My teachers have not just taught me how to understand different arenas of academia but made me realise where my interests lie and build myself towards such aspirations. They have poked my sleeping ambitions, encouraged my amateur enthusiasm, heard my reckless doubts, and made me trust my intuitions. And that for me have been some of the biggest lessons so far. These lessons do not carry assigned modular credits, but they do come with conscious arguments, which insist you to question any deal in life at face value. You learn to unhinge yourself from the existing norms and not feel lost. You make arguments over implicit traditions and provoke discussions that can change your mindset, above anybody else’s. Some teach you to take life tough, some teach you to laugh. At the end of the day, you find the path in the middle.

This Teacher’s Day, I want to thank all those teachers who have questioned me and supported me.

--

--