The Proustian Series : Shadi Parsa

La serie di interviste alle persone di H-FARM su modello proustiano.

Unbutton
unbutton
Published in
4 min readJul 2, 2020

--

Shadi was born in 1988, to a family of science and language nerds. Her childhood scenes happened in Kyoto filled with Nintendo, Abba and chasing insects during humid summers. She became an engineer in her home country Iran and then moved to Istanbul for postgraduate studies. After that she decided to learn more about Design and ended up in Milan. For a Star Trek-like internship in futuristic stuff she lived and worked in Cologne for a while, then one magical day joined H-FARM because she always wanted to be a part of a real farm and lived happily ever after in Erlangen and Milan… and still counting. In case you wonder what Shadi means, It means happiness. My LinkedIn

Un tratto tipico del tuo carattere. I’m a cynic stoic on the pessimism spectrum.

Il tuo principale difetto. Being romantic despite my pessimism.

Se potessi viaggiare nel tempo, dove andresti? I will go back in time to Egypt and try to go into one of the pyramids. I would like to become the person performing the rituals, or the artist doing Hieroglyph stories and scripts. It’s my childhood fantasy. Also, I would travel a hundred years into the future and see if we fucked up our planet.

Il tuo primo ricordo. My first memory lies somewhere in a swimming pool because I started swimming very early. It’s amongst the best memories that even during my meditation I come back to.

La tua idea di felicità. Finding an extremely deep and emotional connection with people. The core of my happiness is meaningful communication.

Un rimpianto. I regret not continuing basketball as a career because I was good at it in high school. I wanted to be more involved in professional sport.

Un sogno ricorrente. Flying over the ocean. And Mountains.

Un luogo dove ritorni quando puoi. Lisbon, I love Fado (music genre) , it makes me ecstatic, drunk and mini-melancholic at the same time.

Una cosa difficile che ti è capitato di dover fare. I had to take care of my grandmother when she broke her femur. It was super hard and it changed me on a lot of levels: I become more empathetic and less of an asshole.

La app che usi più di frequente. Spotify. And a game called black box.

Il viaggio della vita? I am dying to travel to the Arctic Pole, I want to spend six months in the research observatory there, hanging out with Penguins and reading the books of the previous explorers in that iced silence.

Una generazione che ti affascina. The 70s, the era when people had Bowie.

Dove prendi le decisioni importanti? During long-distance runs.

Cosa consideri sopravvalutato? Politics and its limitations.

Qualcuno che ammiri nella vita reale. Christine Lagarde. Style-wise, brain-wise, career-wise.

Quel che detesti più di tutto. Anything that limits my freedom would drive me mad, also stupidity and ignorance is what I hate the most.

La tua stravaganza. Buying weird hats, I am a huge follower of Nick Fouquet, Maryam Keyhani and Borsalino designs.

Come passi il tempo libero? I spend a peculiar amount of time in museums staring at the walls. And I do classic archery.

L’incontro che ti ha cambiato la vita. I graduated in engineering and later I joined a nude sketching group with sculptures and painters. They helped me become more open minded and less judgmental and pushed me to understand art mediums more deeply.

Una frase che ripeti spesso. I always add a but in my sentences, like you are right, but…

Il dono di natura che vorresti avere. The speed of a cheetah and the swimming capabilities of a Dolphin.

In cosa sei particolarmente brava? I’m pretty good at connecting unrelated stuff one to another, it’s something I’ve been doing since I was a kid.

La tua più grande conquista. That my friends and family rely on me and I can help them out.

Se non avessi fatto il mestiere che hai fatto, cosa faresti? I would definitely be a brain surgeon working in Doctors Without Borders and then probably die from ebola at the age of 41.

Da sinistra verso destra e dall’alto verso il basso:

  • Un artista che ti manda in fibrillazione: Theo Jansen
  • Film preferito: Julia
  • Serie Tv definitiva: Fringe
  • Piatto irrinunciabile: Beef Stroganoff
  • Il libro che ha cambiato il tuo modo di vedere le cose: The Soul Enchanted, Romain Rolland
  • Oggetto senza il quale non potresti vivere: Nintendo Switch

--

--