Ready set…

Abby Holland
UNC Charlotte Writing Project
2 min readApr 11, 2019

The following is from high school author Michael Massey. Let’s give him some claps and celebrate his journey.

Ready set…
By Michael Massey

I’m ready to set a ready to go goal for myself. If only I can somewhat get going.
I’m at the starting line of my life and I still don’t know much about it.
The finish line is years to come, and the achievement line is right in front of me.
I started running, but in place. I didn’t move or flinch while dodging the punches that life has thrown. I have feared what is to come. Unfortunately life has committed a crime against me. Mankind well let me put it this way
The one wish has been made that mankind and war needs to be banished from this planet. Peace shall rain on the seeds and knew life will sprout-George washington.
If only I had crossed that line to know exactly what he said at the time.
I feel pathetic for the things I have done, and yet I had finally flinched at life and increased my fear.
I have to mark my marbles, and play my cards the right way. One day I’ll be the help that my family needs. Hopefully I will help my mom out but not be begged by money notes. I only want the notes of music in my ears and the history of the hallway.
Maybe I’ll get a hall pass and life will give me that walk through. It’s like me watching a movie and it gives you previews what’s to come and you think you know every little thing of what you had seen, but yet your wrong.

What if i’m just not ready set to go?

--

--