Young Writers Camp Week 2

Abby Holland
UNC Charlotte Writing Project
2 min readJul 18, 2018

I finally had a chance to visit the classrooms on Tuesday afternoon.

Brie’s group was finger knitting.

What does finger knitting have to do with writing? It strengthens kids’ hands and improves handwriting. Campers learn problem-solving skills, and fixing knitting mistakes is a lot like editing and revision in writing.

Audrey is our star knitter.

Then I stepped into the middle school room, where students just started sharing their writing.

The middle schoolers are an energetic bunch eager to share and listen to each other. I hope the bring this positive energy to school in August.

Wednesday was our field trip, and this time I got to tag along with the elementary group.

The kids loved the train ride.

What excited me most is seeing campers sneak in some writing. Joe saw me with a camera and politely put down his notebook.

Our last open mic is only two days away, and I am certain the campers want to keep writing. All Young Writers are invited to be guest bloggers during the school year. Who is interested? Let me know in the comments!

--

--