MEU Athens: Mackenzie Hansen

Mackenzie Hansen studies Contemporary European Studies at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. Mackenzie participated in Model EU Athens, as a Defense Attorney on the European Court of Justice.

Having studied European affairs in the classroom and participated in domestic Model EU simulations, I was thrilled to join UNC-Chapel Hill’s Model EU team for MEU Athens. As an American at a European simulation, I was particularly excited for this opportunity to practice model diplomacy with Europeans themselves. One of the first questions I received was from my colleagues who wanted to know why, as an American, I was interested in the function of the European Union and, more broadly, why I found European studies to be a fascinating course of study. This question turned out to be a recurring one, and as I answered it I came to understand more fully why I want to work in the field of European affairs. Firstly, friendly relations with the European Union is of vital importance to American economic and geopolitical interests. The European Union is also a fascinating entity to study because it has uniquely structured institutions and capabilities. I have found that putting the function of these institutions into practice makes for the best form of learning, especially when doing so with people more acquainted with and affected by these institutions.

Mackenzie Hansen stands in front of the Parthenon at the Acropolis in Athens, Greece.

I participated in the simulation as a defense attorney for the European Commission in the European Court of Justice. I came in with little knowledge of EU case-law — I really had only a basic understanding of EU primary law. However, many of the other participants were either current law students or recent graduates, so I was able to learn a great deal from their expertise, which was often exchanged during our down-time discussions or over coffee. In summary, my experience at MEU Athens was highly instructive and immersive. The hours spent in committee came to feel short as I took in all there was to learn. Indeed the four days felt like nothing at all, yet the connections I made with my fellow participants left me with lifelong friends.

This publication was produced with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of UNC, Pitt, and FIU, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

This publication was produced with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of UNC, Pitt, and FIU, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

--

--