Pittsburgh MEU 2022: Rita Kanazeh

Rita Kanazeh studies Biological Sciences and International Relations at Florida International University. Rita participated in Pittsburgh MEU, as the Head of Government of Czechia.

Rita Kanazeh (left) representing Czechia during the 2022 Pittsburgh MEU

I joined Model EU in sole coincidence, after a former Model EU member told me about the influential experience and it was a grand decision I pursued during my senior year at FIU. Although, I was hesitant to officially join the team because I didn’t have experience in debating and negotiating. The beauty about it was that I gained these skills in our pre-sessions and in the model debates themselves. Within the model, I learned how these debates occur, the terminology used, and rules. I previously learned briefly about the European Union from Dr. Thiel’s class on International Organizations, but actually living through it, its implications, as well as applying these skills within the model vastly different than just interpreting the textbook about this particular organization. Given the very brief knowledge I had before joining FIU’s Model EU about the European Union, it didn’t mean that I couldn’t serve as a future delegate, but instead opened a new challenge and opportunity to broaden my understandings of this specific regional organization. As an international relations student, I believe it is important to have some degree of knowledge of what is happening politically, economically, socially in all regions of the world. Sometimes we tend to focus on one area, make it our forte, and forget other parts of the globe in this interconnected world. Thus, Model EU was the reason I grew professionally and academically. Looking back at my initial decision to join, I’m glad I took this route and didn’t get intimidated from my lack of experience. I definitely recommend Model EU to anyone wanting to immerse themselves in a professional framework, enhance their public speaking skills, get out of their comfort zone, and most importantly, to learn, as education is the only discipline which moves us forward.

In my first model, at the University of Pittsburgh Model EU, I served as the Head of Government of Czechia. I really got a glimpse of how difficult it is to come to final decisions when countries are trying to implement policies, even in a setting were European core values and goals are quite aligned politically and economically. Serving as a delegate, I had to be quick and bold with my information and ideas and how to utilize them to sway decisions in favor of my country, Czechia. I embodied myself in the ideology of a Czechian politician and acted as they would respond, formed my strategic allies, and did what was in my best interest as a delegate of Czechia when debating the matters of “Protecting our climate and digital transformation, Digital Europe Programme and Cyber Threats, and EU-US gv”. Lastly, I want to thank faculty advisors: Ernesto, Dr. Thiel, and Christine for preparing the team and teaching us about the works of the Model and of the European Union in addition to guiding us with the strategic methods of negotiation and debating. I raise a gratitude to their support which was all possible from the MiamiFlorida Jean Monnet European Center of Excellence at FIU.

This publication was produced with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of UNC, Pitt, and FIU, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

--

--