Spring 2022 MEU Simulations: Lauren Cibrian Castro

Lauren Cibrian Castro studies Political Science and International Relations at Florida International University. In Spring 2022, Lauren participated in the Pittsburgh MEU, West Coast MEU, and Midwest MEU.

Lauren (right) at the Midwest MEU with her FIU teammates

In my first semester at FIU, as a transfer student, I learned about the Model EU program in Dr. Thiel’s EU politics class. He stated that at the end of the semester, he would select the best five students in his class to participate in the program without having to go through the interview process. I received the email from Dr. Thiel at the start of the Spring semester and quickly expressed my interest in joining the team. I was really interested at the time in gaining a thorough understanding of the European Union and its functions. After attending the three conferences (Pittsburgh, West Coast, and Midwest), I am certain that I have accomplished my goal of learning more about the European Union and its politics.

It was a once-in-a lifetime opportunity to walk in the shoes of EU policymakers and heads of state, and it gave me a better understanding of how tough it is to represent a country’s interests while trying to reach an agreement with 27 other countries on global concerns. I was hesitant to join the team at first because I had no prior experience, but Dr. Thiel, Ernesto, and Christine provided excellent training, preparation, and support throughout the semester. Overall, I am grateful for everything they did for the team and will undoubtedly return next year. As a result of this experience, I can confidently state that I have grown both personally and professionally. I met some amazing people and made some valuable professional connections. Professionally, it broadened my experience dealing with global issues and guided me in shaping the direction I want to pursue in my field of study. I learned public speaking, negotiating, and conflict resolution skills among other things. These abilities will undoubtedly benefit my professional career and having the opportunity to learn in such a wonderful environment was well worth the effort

This publication was produced with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of UNC, Pitt, and FIU, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

--

--