Teaching Global Citizens

2024 Eurofellows Reflection

This post was written by educator Ronny Osorio-Lopez from Southeast College Preparatory Academy.

Being a student in a small town such as Halifax county school limits the ideas of the students about the opportunities awaiting them in the rest of the world. Geographically located in the rural area of the Northeast region of North Carolina, Halifax County School District is charting a new course filled with empowered scholars in becoming successful global residents. As a foreign language (Spanish) teacher, I am implementing various ways of teaching a second language to cater the different learning styles of the scholars. The goal is to have the students acquire a new language and apply it in real life. Aligning with the district’s expectations of the scholars becoming successful global residents, I proudly present the world in the four corners of my classroom by having them experience the cultures and different traditions of the Spanish-speaking countries.

European Union Fellows never came to my attention until I bumped into it while attending a training at UNC Chapel Hill. My colleague and I have decided to sign up in order for us to expand our knowledge, and be acquainted with different cultures on top of what we have learned already. My initial idea in mind when I joined this program was to know deeper about the European Union but with all the immersions and meetings spearheaded by dynamic leader, Brett, I figured out that this fellowship is a one of a kind experience that could elevate not only my perspective as a teacher but also my students’ way of thinking and being.

It is always a well spent moment every time I attend the sessions we had in EU Fellows. I was able to develop a lesson plan about the European countries and the EU in itself. It gave me visualizations as to how I will soon integrate the EU in my lessons and activities in the classroom and school-wide. A great example would be organizing a European Fair where the students represent different EU countries. Students will learn deeper about the countries they are searching and share the information fetched with the rest of the school community. With this activity, the Trojan community will learn more about the culture, language and the food from these countries.

This initiative will provide High School and University students and teachers from North Carolina with a deeper insight into EU culture, language, and traditions, making their learning experience both meaningful and relevant to their background.

By integrating European culture in the class/curriculum, students will be exposed and learn more about languages and see the root of many languages in the world such as French, Spanish, German, Italian, and more. For example, teachers can explore and teach facts through fun interactive activities like language games, role plays, and conversations with native speakers. Students can develop an interest in languages and understand the importance of communication in intercultural interactions.

During the meetings in Chapel Hill, it was fantastic to hear about the exchange students’ lived experiences and enthusiasm for bringing a similar culture to their culture (USA) and how this exchange program helped them to change their lives, as well. This is what I envision with my students in my school district in Halifax, I have to show to my colleagues the value of providing students with opportunities to learn about different cultures and languages beyond their small town by expanding on the European cultural exchange model in the county and encountered in Chapel Hill, I would consider implementing a similar program in Halifax to not only expose students to the richness of European cultures but also to broaden their global perspectives.

--

--