5 Things I Learned From Solo Travel

Claire Stapley
Uncommon World
Published in
5 min readFeb 15, 2021

--

And why I’m grateful I did it alone

Photo by Jordan Opel on Unsplash

In December 2019, I packed my bags and flew to the other side of the world; Australia.

However, my solo travel didn’t start until February 2020, and it was truly one of the most enriching and challenging experiences of my life. Ironically, I hadn’t planned to be on my own, per se.

I did feel overwhelmed a lot of the time I was in Australia, and although I cherished the amazing memories that I made with friends old and new, a lot of the people I’d met were at the “end” of their travelling journey, and I felt out of place as I’d just quit my “career” job and was yet to embrace the #ChilledVibes that travelling supposedly would give me.

I joked around and said I’d be “Zen”, but the first two weeks of being in Australia I genuinely felt like I was going to die at any given moment. Dramatic? Yes. Anxiety? Yes. Mentally it was weird and I’d already written off staying in Australia for the long term. Solo travel hadn’t even crossed my mind at this point.

After a well-advised trip to Bali with one of my close friends, I started to finally relax and sink into the nomad, backpacker lifestyle. Overall, I didn’t have the best start to my round-the-world trip. I was scammed in Australia nearly £1000 and had half of my backpack contents stolen in Bali, so you…

--

--

Claire Stapley
Uncommon World

Freelance copywriter. Passionate about mental health, travel, films and people.