Jackie Lea Shelley 🌮
Unconventional Appearances
2 min readOct 11, 2017

--

I’m the B

In LGBTQI,

I’m the “B.”

Bisexual. It means I’m attracted to humans of both genders, and, as it happens, pretty much most attractive adult humans, irregardless of genitalia.

Basically, in a nutshell, I’m gay. I’m 38 years old and this marks my first national coming out day.

Every year my finger hesitated over the “post” button, and every year previous, I thought, “Not this year.”

It was private. It was too scary. It was none of your business.

It was inauthentic and sad and felt shameful.

But I’m still gay.

I’ve been married to a man and had children and I’m in a heterosexual monogamous relationship now with a man, and I look for all the world like a straight woman, but I’m still gay.

In the end, I'm still me. Still here, still queer.

And all these years, when people talked about gay people and made those little jokes and barbs and comments, it was me they were talking about, and I kept quiet.

But I was still gay.

I like being a woman.

But I’m still gay.

It doesn’t make a whole lot of difference, and it shouldn’t matter who I love and when and how,

But politically speaking, it does.

I was born this way.

I’m just.. bisexual.

I’m gay.

So, I stand with you, my fellow humans of all genders and all sexualities, including asexual:

You’re all god’s children to me.

Love you, gay or straight.

Happy coming out day!

--

--