Why women (desperately) need bigger jeans pockets

Levis, Lee Cooper and all denim jeans makers, hear my plea!

Aashna Kaur
2 min readApr 21, 2014

Since the time I’ve stopped buying unisex jeans (age 12?), I have a problem. I hate my jeans pockets.

They are tiny, tiny pockets that can barely hold anything but my phone, which sticks out like a big box telling every pick pocket-er out there: hello! if the box looks big enough it’s probably worth stealing.

I should carry only coins really.

I lost my keys last week ($3). My college admit card the week before that ($5).

Which got me to desperately reconsider if I should start visiting the mens section.

Sure the fitting would suck, considering the fact that I am curvy (no Levis, we have enough of curvy fitting jeans). We just need bigger pockets! Pockets with not-so-wide openings so that the things we put inside, stay inside.

I spend less time frolicking on the beach and posing next to walls and more time running from one place to another, stuffing important notes and keys into my pocket.

DL1961 Premium Denim Spring/Summer 2014 Campaign

I envy men because they can carry the world in their jeans.

And stop asking women why they need big bags. Ask the denim companies who are in conspiracy with bag manufacturers!

Give it a try. Transfer all the things you carry in your pocket to those of the first woman you can find. She will apologetically look at you and point to her beautiful big bag.

The ads practically yelp don’t buy me without buying a bag
Lumia 900: HTC One-X:

The next time you see a woman anxiously shuffling through her bag for her keys and phone, or if you see things fall out of her pockets, don’t roll your eyes. Curse the day small pockets were invented.

I am entrepreneur/hustler, and I am not looking to start my own jeans startup (yet). So someone help me out.

I don’t want bags. I want comfortable, durable, deep blue beautiful jeans with practical pockets that I can wear everyday without patting them every two minutes to check if my valuables are on me.

Are the Denim Gods listening on this one or do I have to burn plastic bottles as a sacrifice?

--

--