A Conversation With CMTEN

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2020

Get familiar with the eighteen year old producer blending bubblegum pop with elements of electronica, hip hop and rock from his bedroom in Salt Lake City

Under The Rug: What was your first exposure to music production?

CMTEN: For Christmas in 2017, I got a MIDI keyboard from my parents and just kind of went from there.

Starting from a keyboard and going to a full time music project is pretty significant, how did you decide to pursue an identity as CMTEN?

I just started messing around in Ableton, incorporating influences from the artists I was listening to at the time into my own work. As I learned more regarding the technicalities of production, I began the journey of establishing my own unique style. The whole project/persona of CMTEN then started to develop as an outlet for my emotions and experiences.

That definitely comes through in your music, there’s a strong sense of authenticity to it. Where does the name CMTEN actually come from?

When I was like 7 my dad made a Webkinz account for me with the username “netmrc.” I ended up using the name for a bunch of internet stuff throughout my childhood, and wanted to incorporate the nostalgia associated with it into my music. I just put netmrc backwards and took out the R, leaving me with CMTEN.

Where do you find your inspiration for songwriting?

When it comes to writing songs, they usually come from some deep emotion I’m experiencing or me just wanting to make something fun and catchy. One day I’ll be writing something super personal about my depression or learning issues, and the next I’ll be making a danceable track about girls and drugs. It’s kind of fun to bounce back and forth between the two.

Absolutely. I think it’s important to explore how you’re actually feeling, rather than boxing yourself into a certain emotional trope. In the range of inspiration, are there any contemporary or older artists who particularly influence your work?

Definitely. As for my influences, I’d say the main artists currently would be Vampire Weekend, Bladee, nitemare, osquinn, RILEY THE MUSICIAN, M83, and 100 gecs.

Quite the range, but definitely makes sense given the stylistic depth of your projects. How would you describe your own musical style?

I like to classify it as pop, just because I feel like that’s a nice umbrella term for music that’s quite stylistically varied. If I were to dive further into it, I’d say my style is primarily a mix of electronic, experimental hip hop, and indie rock music.

I definitely see that, a blend of genres is always nice and keeps things fresh. Your newest track “Never Met” features a more “glitch-core” (for lack of a better term) style, how did that come about?

I’ve been listening to a lot of artists on SoundCloud this year (kurtains, osquinn, and wido to name a few) who explore that style, and I found their work incredibly catchy and inspiring. I sort of mixed influence from those artists with inspiration from Dylan Brady and SOPHIE, and came up with “NEVER MET!”

On said track, you’ve collaborated with Glitch Gum. Is there anyone else you hope to work with in the future?

There’s a whole bunch of artists I’d like to work with if I had the opportunity. Getting osquinn or Alice Gas on a track would be an absolute dream come true. I’d also been hoping to collaborate with RILEY THE MUSICIAN for a while, but I actually got him on a track on my new EP, so that’s dope!

Awesome, you’re making moves. Are there any musical styles you’d like to explore that you maybe haven’t had the chance to yet?

Very much so. I want to venture a bit into a more punk rock sound at some point. I think it would be awesome to combine super distorted drums and guitar with the glitchy auto-tune vocal effects I’m currently exploring.

Definitely a sound I would be on board for. As for releases, what can we expect from you going forwards?

On May 29th, I’m dropping a 4 track EP called “MUSIC BOX” on all streaming platforms. This is the project that NEVER MET came off of, and I’m really excited for people to hear the rest of it. In addition, Glitch Gum and I are working on a collaborative EP that should be out later this year.

Looks like you’ve been hard at work and I’m excited to hear what comes next. Any parting words for the readers?

First I’d like to say a big thank you to Under the Rug for making this interview possible! Anyone reading this is helping underground artists like me get a foothold in the highly competitive music industry. I hope everyone stays supporting small artists and streaming our stuff. Thank you all!

Stream CMTEN’s music below:

--

--

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug

Music Journalist. Owner, writer and editor of Under the Rug. Lover of underground gems.