Demxntia Unveils Alterative Music Genre-Hopping on Groundbreaking Project Bittersweet

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug
Published in
4 min readOct 9, 2020

From ear-busting metalcore to the lofi sounds of dreamy shoegaze, Demxntia brings an r&b twist to a variety of alternative music genres that have inspired him on his first technical full length, bittersweet and proves yet again that he can do it all. Collaborating with artists similarly influenced by such genres on a select number of tracks, Demxntia goes all in on paying homage to his influences, whether that be an anime like Fooly Cooly or pop punk superstars Neck Deep. It’s an album pervaded by meaningful thought, and an unsurprisingly powerful stepping stone in the Florida artist’s career.

Under the Rug: You chose to explore a variety of more “rock” based styles on this album. What drove that decision?

Demxntia: I listen and love a lot of genres but I grew up listening to a lot of alternative music in general so if anything it was only right for me to make a rock album as a tribute to young-mxntia! For this album I wanted to capture that mid 2000’s nostalgia; kinda like a fall-time vibe. I eventually want to do an album/EP of every genre I love though so this is just one of many to come :)

Many of the tracks feel especially confessional, were there specific events in your life that drove the lyrical content?

I’d say this body of work holds the most personal experiences and feelings out of my whole discography. I don’t like going too in depth with anything outside of my music so with this album I wanted to talk about my life and how I feel on a day to day basis; depression, lack of motivation, the pressure of having to take care of those around you, relationships and whatnot. I didn’t think too much about how well written the songs were, but moreso how honest and how close I could get these tracks to my feelings.

From Original God to Kaiyko, the album boasts strong collaborations. How did you decide who you wanted to have on the featured tracks?

Off rip you know I had to get that mf OG on the metalcore track LMFAO that man a demon for sure. I especially had to get Kaiyko on a track because it was only right for her to be on a track after we did It’s Alright together. Dion and 6HOST goes crazy with the chilled out almost shoegaze/indie rock tracks so it was a no brainer for me to get them on, and what’s a better way for me to end an alternative album than to have a feature with Dani from Neck Deep?

Obviously you’re a big fan of music yourself, were there any artists that particularly inspired you along the way?

Of course! I’m never afraid to say who inspired my music. This album was inspired a bit by Circa Survive, One OK Rock, Neck Deep, and a bit of Teen Suicide! I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart for alternative music.

Is this sound something you want to continue for the future?

Definitely here and there but it won’t be my main sound! I still classify myself as an R&B artist but I always dabble in multiple genres. I don’t necessarily want to be known as that guy who makes a certain genre, moreso that guy who just makes music in general.

You’ve expressed a connection to other forms of media such as anime for this album. How did that show itself in the songs?

The song mirror is actually inspired (sonically) by Fooly Cooly! A lot of people say my music sounds like anime openings and endings and that’s usually what I go for regardless of the genre. I want it to be memorable, tell a story, and catchy as FUCK. Everyone knows the Naruto openings, the Tokyo Ghoul opening, etc. I’m tryna make music that you can’t forget about after hearing it hahaha

How did the production of this album influence the way you’ll approach music going forwards?

7. It’s technically my first full length album so it’ll be a dope milestone to reflect and learn from for sure! I’ve been having a hard time accepting that music is a business and that I should make a lot more calculated moves but I’m always willing to learn.

What can we expect to see from you post-album cycle?

I got some merch and a lot of visuals :) Wanted a lot of music videos and fire art to really paint a picture for the listeners but bost importantly just more fire music. R&B, Alternative, Electronic, whatever genre I love I’m gonna dominate it.

--

--

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug

Music Journalist. Owner, writer and editor of Under the Rug. Lover of underground gems.