Original God: Horror, Metalcore and Anime, The Birth of Suspiriorum

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug
Published in
4 min readAug 13, 2020

The genre-melding innovator speaks on his musical process- from choosing producers to integrating his love of film

With a name drawn from the Italian supernatural horror film Suspiria, one might know what to expect from the genre-blending Original God’s newest full length. The project is dark, disturbing, and at times difficult, but also shows itself as innovative, unique, and ridiculously infectious, with each track being a full fledged extension of the self proclaimed anime antagonist’s sound. Raspy rapping and vicious metalcore screeches and growls convene to channel the artist’s influences- both musically and in visual media. Anime references meld with personal angst and upset to tie an appropriate lyricism to the eclectic sounds that come together to establish something unique to music- and even new to Original God himself.

Under The Rug: Where does the name Suspiriorum come from?

Original God: The film Suspiria

With an overwhelming air of darkness, tracks about various topics seem tied together, is there any concept that binds the various songs on the album?

The album definitely focuses on accepting the inevitable darkness that comes with existence and learning to keep pushing on and crafting one’s own meaning amongst the trauma and horrors we all face. Tying in with the film the album touches on the perversion of power the world and oppressors use against us and I hope the music will help those to stand up for themselves and others.

While the album does evoke a horror soundtrack, some of the lyrics deal with heavier topics such as religion. How did you factor in that decision?

I grew up in a religious setting and while I won’t necessarily discuss my own beliefs I think the idea of faith is beautiful and wanted to create art from a different angle than I usually approach.

Your love of anime and horror media is clear, how did that influence the production of the piece?

I included anime and horror as well as I think they really help establish my vision and I want to give back to the art that inspires me as well.

A sound totally your own, the music has touches of both nostalgic and modern alternative music, are there any artists in particular that influenced the writing/making of Suspiriorum?

Definitely the two projects that spoke the most with me are Bring Me The Horizon’s Sempiternal and Kanye’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Both these projects included an overall theme tying every piece together but sound wise explored new territory for the artists while letting their roots continue to grow as well. I wanted to create a project with this opus and make it my own!

Were there specific events in your life that drove the lyrics on Suspiriorum? If so, which ones?

This album deals with the sexual trauma, deaths and suicide that plagued my life I wont go into much detail but I want people to know that life gets better you are loved and these moments of horror dont define us.

Suspiriorum has a variety of talented producers behind the instrumentals, what was your process in terms of beat/instrumental selection?

Shout out Eternal Raijin, Hushinsilence, Mason Flynt, Servatus, Mokes, Slidinmoon, Lagune, and SK! Everyone that helped bring this project to life Ive worked with before so I knew how talented they were and we could create something we all worked hard on. Definitely want to thank Brody McKeegan for being amazing + mixing this whole project and Karl Olson for helping me with some extra mastering!

Having continued to hone your signature sound on the album, is this a sound you want to pursue even further?

Definitely! I’ve already started on my next project and I’m finally starting to make music I’m proud of.

What’s next for the Original God Project?

I think quarantine should be taken pretty seriously so concerts are on hold for a bit but lots of new music and visuals in the work! I actually have something non-music related I’ve been working on too that’s been pushed back due to covid-19 but I really don’t think people are ready once I announce it!

Is there anything else you’d like to add?

I hope you listen to Suspiriorum and thank you to everyone who has ever supported me, new & old, it goes a long way trust me.

Support Original God:

--

--

Dylan Joaquin
Under the Rug

Music Journalist. Owner, writer and editor of Under the Rug. Lover of underground gems.