Bouncing her way through life with the ‘Mamba Mentality’

Liz D.
Under the Sun
Published in
6 min readApr 22, 2021

By Liz D.

Hannah Purcell at her backyard basketball court, in Orange, California on April 21.

Bouncing her basketball along the pavement, as nothing but nature and the fresh air surrounds her, Hannah Purcell, 23, fights the anxiety and worries within her, and focuses on making her shot. Standing at the free-throw line, she spins the ball in her hands as she takes a deep breath to calm her nerves. “It’s just one shot,” she says to herself. She raises the ball above her head with her arms locked in a shooting motion, as she lets the ball go and hits the bottom of the net. “I made it,” she says, with a happy grin on her face.

Basketball has always been Purcell’s first love and escape from life, since she was young.

“I started playing basketball at a very young age, when I saw some boys playing on the courts at school. They gave me a hard time being a girl, but I was determined to learn and to practice until I could be better than them,” Purcell said. “As time went on, the more I played and the more I practiced, I finally beat them on the playground. And since that day, I knew I wanted to play.”

Purcell went on to join teams in elementary school, junior high, and high school. She also played for a year in college. But life would change the direction of her path forever and prompt Purcell to find the motivation to reach for more.

“I was going to school, but ended up getting pregnant and needed to make more money for my son,” said Purcell, who gave birth to her son, Andrew, in May 2018.

Working during the pandemic has been tough for Purcell, but her faith keeps her going each and every day.

“Being an essential worker honestly makes me feel blessed knowing that even during the COVID-19 pandemic, I am able to serve people and help them get what they need,” Purcell said. “It also is a good reminder to me that I am needed.”

Barrett Brown is a co-worker of Purcell’s and admires her work ethic.

“My experience with Hannah has been great,” Brown said. “She is very hardworking, dedicated, and I can tell she cares a lot about her job and she takes her supervising role seriously.”

Working with the public is something that she finds great purpose in.

“I love being able to meet new people and help them with whatever they need. Sometimes my customers like to confide in me, to share their problem and their joys. I do my best to reassure people, to listen, to be happy with them,” Purcell said. “I’ve learned from personal experience that even the littlest things can brighten someone’s day, and can make a bigger difference than you realize.”

Working as a team player is something that makes Purcell stand out at her store.

“She works very well with others and knows how to have fun while still being professional and getting work done,” Brown said. “She has very good communication skills and knows how to handle awkward situations and conversations better than most people.”

Working to provide for her 3-year-old son means having less time to spend with him sometimes.

“The long hours that take up the majority of my day are hard, because it’s so much time away from my son,” Purcell said. “It makes me feel depressed because I know he wants me there, and I want to be there, but he’s not old enough to understand why I have to be working.”

Brown admires how Purcell can manage high stress situations while at work.

“Hannah works very well under high stress situations. She always keeps her cool and never seems to be overwhelmed by anything,” Brown said. “She seems like she can handle pretty much anything work can throw at her and I am happy to have her as a coworker.”

Having her son is her biggest blessing and has given Purcell a bigger purpose to continue living and fighting through her demons.

“My son is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. He’s changed my life for the better,” Purcell said. “Yes, having a child means more responsibility, but it’s a constant reminder to me that I am his role model and despite the struggles I face, I am important and I am his person. He learns from me, he sees and hears everything that I say and do.”

Purcell had to grow up into adulthood at an early age, and that helped her find the joy in her life.

“I am pushed to always do my best with my son, because I want him to be strong and I want to give him everything in the world. Having my son at an early age made me grow up faster, and it definitely put my head on my shoulders,” Purcell said. “Being a mom is the best thing that’s ever happened to me, it helps me forget about my mental health issues because I feel nothing but pure joy, and bliss with my son.”

Hannah Purcell stands beneath the basket, as all her anxiety and worries disappear in Orange, California on April 21.

Having a support system is crucial when dealing with mental health challenges and striving to become successful and reach your goals in life.

“My family is the best support system I have and I’m so grateful and blessed to have them. If I’m feeling anxious or depressed, I can always call my mom and she knows just what to say,” Purcell said. “My mom is so good at listening, reassuring me, being understanding, and calming me down. She gives the best advice and will always go out of her way to put a smile on my face.”

Purcell finds the most comfort in her best friend and boyfriend Carlos Castaneda, who is always there to help her through it.

“I see how she battles with her depression and ADHD,” Castaneda said. “Whenever I’m able to notice it I help by talking to her, putting on her favorite songs, making jokes, or just trying my best to be goofy and smile.”

A chart explaining the affects of ADHD, courtesy of Hannah Purcell.

Daily activities are something that helps Purcell just let loose and have some fun.

“Writing, playing basketball, spending time with my son, hanging out with my family, listening to music, relaxing with my boyfriend, going for runs, and sleeping all help relieve my stress and anxieties,” Purcell said. “I’ll also blast my music and just dance, whether by myself, with my friends, my boyfriend, or my son.”

Castaneda is always discovering something new about Purcell that helps their relationship grow.

“Our relationship is like finding your new favorite song everyday,” Castaneda said. “We always learn something new from each other and are always finding things in common with each other. My girlfriend and best friend in one.”

Having someone who shares the same challenges helps find strength within each other.

“We both have trouble concentrating. And we both have trouble properly showing emotions sometimes,” Castaneda said. “But we learn to manage and better ourselves.”

Purcell’s light shines on her boyfriend, as he finds his inspiration within her.

“She has inspired me to be a better person, to be patient, and to always think, Castaneda said. “She inspires me to do better and always be in a better mood than before.”

Struggling with her mental health has knocked down her confidence and she questions her worth.

“My mental health challenges have really had a toll on my self esteem. They make me feel worthless sometimes. They make me feel self conscious and I’ll question why I have these problems,” Purcell said. “Everyday is a struggle but I always push through because I have things in my life that motivate me, my biggest motivation being my son.”

Purcell still loves the game of basketball and it’s a part of her every day.

“Basketball will always be there for me to help me let out my stress, to motivate me to get out and do something, and simply just to let me have fun and let loose,” Purcell said.

Hannah Purcell holds onto her love of the game inside her basketball court in Orange, California on April 21.

--

--

Liz D.
Under the Sun

Journalist, Writer, and Poet from Los Angeles