Aspiring actress chases down her future

Symone Ranaye
Under the Sun
Published in
3 min readApr 19, 2021

On a scorching August day in Los Angeles, after driving 16 hours from Denver with just her suitcase and a dream, Sierra Arielle had finally arrived in California. With no family or friends to help her settle in, she realized for the first time in her life that she was on her own. Leaving Colorado to pursue her career as an actress was just the beginning of her new life. The mother of three left behind her past to chase down her future.

Upon her arrival on Aug. 11, 2019, Sierra knew she was destined to be an actress. Traveling from state to state gave her the motivation to keep driving, even though her children; Arielle, 14; Christaleen, 9; and Christopher, 7; are staying in Denver with their father.

“It was definitely hard to leave my kids behind, but when my oldest said, ‘Mommy we’re happy when you’re happy,’ I knew it was time for me to be happy and I left first chance I could,” Sierra said. She admits the separation from her kids is difficult, but Facetime helps her cope with the separation.

With so much negativity going on in the world, Sierra always makes sure she remains as positive as possible. In doing so, the actress likes to prioritize her mental health no matter how busy her schedule is.

Every morning “I start my day off with saying affirmations about myself,” Sierra, 32, says. “Like, ‘I am blessed. I am victorious. I am God’s favorite.”

Praying is another activity that makes her feel good within. No matter what, “I listen for God’s voice,” she says. “And then I listen to some uplifting music to set my intentions. This helps me stay grounded and at peace, knowing God is in control of everything throughout the day.”

Looking up to other actresses such as Angela Bassett and Viola Davis, Sierra has been on top of her game in making sure she reaches the top. Going to Los Angeles acting schools, she learned how to be in touch with her feelings, control her emotions, and develop better communication skills. For Sierra, this is both life advice and acting credo. With doing this, she has received both the best actress award for her stage performance and most improved actress.

The hardest part, she says, isn’t even the superficial circumstances of a character. It’s discovering what they strive for and what holds them back. She quotes a famous passage from an interview she read by her favorite actress Viola Davis: “If you want to identify me, ask me not where I live, or what I like to eat, or how I comb my hair, but ask me what I am living for, in detail. Ask me what I think is keeping me from living fully for the thing I want to live for.”

“I’m doing this for my children and I’m a mother before anything,” Sierra says. “My children know mommy is working really hard to provide a better life for them. We talk everyday and that helps our relationship a lot.”

Through her passion, Sierra focuses on remaining transparent with her audience about her journey and vows to always remain true to her beliefs as a mother and a woman.

--

--