International Women’s Day: Lessons Learned for International Business Leaders

--

I’ve been fortunate to work for global companies all over the world. At Mars, I’ve worked in the U.K., France, the United Arab Emirates, Russia, Spain and the U.S., and other positions in my career have brought me across Asia. In each new role, I’ve had to quickly familiarize myself with new workplace cultures and ways of doing business — learning languages along the way to acquire an in-depth understanding of cultural differences and nuances.

I’ve been reflecting quite a bit on my experience as an international working woman — and the power of women around the world to impact economies. The World Bank reports that globally, fewer women than men work, and those who do are paid less, earning on average only 60 to 75 percent of men’s wages. If these employment and wage gaps were closed, this could potentially infuse $17 trillion into the global economy.

The math is simple. When more women work, economies grow. That’s why, this International Women’s Day, I’m reflecting on the challenges and opportunities I’ve experienced working around the world, and wanted to share a few key skills that I believe have helped me along the way. In my experience, women thrive as international business leaders by activating their intellect and curiosity, located in the rational part of the brain; their adaptability, located in the creative part of the brain; and empathy, in their heart.

Curiosity: The art of asking questions

I’m proud to call myself a global citizen. Born in Spain and raised in multiple cities and countries, I changed schools every year from the third to the eighth grade. I had a childhood that was rich with cultural experience and at an early age was introduced to global perspectives, which triggered my curiosity.

Me with my mother and three sisters — all successful international professionals!

My mother (in the photo above with my sisters and I), an engineer, encouraged me to pursue a career in STEM, to explore the world and people around me and always ask, why? As such, I’ve always been eager to understand the rationale behind different cultures and traditions everywhere I traveled for business. Why do people kiss in Spain when they meet? Why do they hug in America? Why is there no contact when greeting one another in Japan? Why do people interrupt each other to express agreement in Spain and why is it considered rude in the U.K.?

I have observed different ways of leading in all of the countries where I’ve lived and worked in, which has taught me that you can learn something new anywhere you go — if you’re curious to ask why.

As the leader of the Mars Wrigley Confectionery U.S. business, being exposed to global markets, trends and insights inspires me. I push myself and my teams to be aware of what is happening outside of our business, in culture, entrepreneurship and social issues. I have practiced the art of asking questions and will continue to train that muscle, because curiosity has enriched my life and my spirit.

Adaptability: The art of facing challenges

What I have learned through living and working in different cultures has been invaluable. That said, we can practice adaptability without leaving home by seeking out different experiences, trying new things and meeting people with diverse backgrounds and cultures. Living in the U.S. provides us with many opportunities to learn adaptability.

As been proved by Darwin, it is not the strongest of species that survives, not the most intelligent — it is the one that is most adaptable to change. As women, we struggle sometimes to be perceived as the strongest, which has taught me that adaptability is a real asset.

Adaptability is also a great form of courage. I have been asked by other women how much courage is needed to succeed, how to get fearless and how to find the courage to lean in. The only answer I can give is that I have been terrified about new challenges I have faced, but chose to adapt to overcome them.

Global professionals must understand and learn to adapt to different environments and working styles. For women struggling to be taken seriously in a predominantly male world, the stakes are even higher. We need to adapt while remaining our true selves. It’s important to not lose yourself in adopting different cultural codes, while allowing your emotional intelligence to be your compass.

Empathy: The art of feeling other’s feelings

But to me, the lesson that has been most impactful in my career has been the awareness I’ve gained of how similar we all are, no matter where we come from. There is truly more that unites working women around the world than divides us, despite differences in language, socioeconomic status, culture and more.

In every country, connecting with humanity is the same: it’s all about empathy and listening. We all cry, laugh, experience fear, loneliness, and like to be appreciated and recognized.

The most impactful and respected leaders everywhere are the most human; those who are willing to bring their best, most compassionate self to work to inspire, engage and drive their teams. That’s what I strive to do every day at Mars. Today, I have the privilege of leading our Mars Wrigley Confectionery U.S. business and can apply my global experiences to lead a diverse set of people, who inspire me daily. I would encourage every woman, if they’re able, to pursue diverse work experiences whether it be in a different functional area of expertise, business, industry, city or country, at some point in their career. My advice for rising women business leaders: Go outside your comfort zone and be willing to take on new or unknown roles to enhance your global IQ. Learn from people who think differently from you, ask questions and consider how to evolve your leadership style to be most effective. And most importantly, seek out companies not just with a global footprint, but a global mindset. For women everywhere, the world is our oyster; let’s not miss a single opportunity to change and impact the international face of business.

Fantastic young women I had the privilege of meeting in Indonesia

--

--

Berta de Pablos
Mars Wrigley Confectionery U.S.: Under the Wrapper

Lead #marketing for @mmschocolate, @Snickers, @milkyway, @Twix, @Dove_Chocolate. Views are my own.