2018’s Song of the Summer

Chris Kennedy
Underblog
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2018

This Year’s Song of the Summer is…

Patty Cake

The kids are off the streets and back in school, the leaves are falling and changing colors, and it is no longer acceptable for me to be shirtless in public. That can only mean one thing folks, Summer is over (or “cancelled” for the woke crowd). However, the memory of Summer 2018 will live on forever. Thanks in part to the hit song that took over radio airwaves during the hot months. You probably already know what I’m talking about unless you were living under a rock from June-August. That’s right, it’s the catchy little ditty, known as “Patty Cake” If you haven’t heard it, it goes a little something like this:

“Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man.

Bake me a cake as fast as you can

Pat it, and prick it, and mark it with “B”

And put it in the oven for Baby and me!”

Here’s a photo of myself sitting in an adult high chair, about to devour a hastily baked cake

When I first heard the song back in June, I knew it would be a viral sensation. With lyrics like, “Bake me a cake as fast as you can”, this song has become a battle cry for the new generation that grew up on iPhones and the instant gratification that comes along with it. It even spurned a series of viral challenge videos in which teens would try to bake a cake as fast as they could while the song played. I even tried to get in on the fun by baking a cake in fifteen seconds flat, but wound up burning my house down in the process!

Two of my closest friends clapping to the beat of Patty Cake, 2018’s Song of the Summer

Now of course with anything that becomes popular, there are bound to be haters and contrarians attempting to ruin the fun. Since declaring “Patty Cake” the Song of the Summer, I’ve had a plethora of friends say things like “Chris, that’s not even really a song, it’s one of the oldest nursery rhymes known to man” or “I’ve never heard that on the radio what are you talking about” and even “That song is for babies Chris” Well, if this track is for babies, then I don’t want to be a big kid. In fact, the song’s popularity hinges on babies being able to understand and sing along to it. Anything that’s considered cutting edge or hip is dictated by the youth. Therefore, the youngest members of society decide what the coolest music to listen to is. And their decision has been loud and clear. Patty cake is the song of summer 2018!

Babies love Patty Cake, but that doesn’t mean an grown up like me can’t enjoy it as well

--

--