Menswear Monday

Anderson .Paak, hat sales, and Kobe’s spaceman shoes

Evan T. Haynos
Underblog
3 min readJul 29, 2019

--

Best outfit I’ve seen recently

Anderson .Paak is this week’s winner for an outfit he wore while performing with YBN Cordae on Fallon last week. The multi-dimensional California artist went with the all-Gucci outfit, a very on-brand choice for the song RNP (R stands for rich, P stands for problems, and you can figure out what N stands for on your own). Cordae is certainly no slouch, but .Paak rocking the traditional Gucci colors from the neck down takes the cake. The performance is also just as electric as the outfit.

Sale of the week

For most clothing items, I’m not particularly loyal to a brand — I’ll wear whatever looks and feels best. When it comes to headwear, however, my allegiance lies solely with one company — ‘47. The ‘47 brand hats are the most comfortable, stylish, and decently-priced ball caps on the market, particularly the traditional, curved brim “Clean Up.” They’re having a 30% off sale today and tomorrow (I believe) on everything in the online store, just enter “47FAMILY30.” I should specify that this is not an ad, but if ‘47 wants to pay me I will be more than happy to write many more nice things about your products.

I’ll toss in some designs of theirs I really like (I’m going with the Tottenham one so no one buy that). All of these are really simple, but they have two-tone and more complicated designs as well.

This Carhatt x 47 collab has some cool blue collar vibes
A classic
Bryson Tiller and I both are big fans of this simple and clean Pirates hat

Menswear-related tweet of the week

No these aren’t a pair of very nice toasters, these are the Adidas Kobe 2’s. Just like I did for those Donald Trump Jr. Nikes, I’ve come up with some better names for this shoe:

  • Moon landing Mamba’s
  • Time-to-switch-to-Nike 2's
  • Neil Armstrong tribute shoe
  • The Uranus ultra-boosts
  • ISS signature shoe
  • This isn’t a shoe name but why does it look like it has a car bumper on the front of it

Kobe actually wore these in a game, too.

That’s it. Follow me on Twitter if you feel like it. Peace

--

--