ANNOUNCEMENT

An Update on Understanding Crime’s Editorial Calendar

And an invitation to “Explaining Crime”

Aaron Jacklin
Understanding Crime
2 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Photo by Wolfgang Rottmann on Unsplash

On January 2 of this year, I launched a newsletter called Explaining Crime. It helps people explain crime to their readers, listeners, viewers, or anyone else.

If you follow me or Understanding Crime, you might find Explaining Crime is right up your alley. Especially if you miss Your First Five, which has moved to Explaining Crime.

Understanding Crime is still alive and well, though it won’t return with new content until February.

This unintentional hiatus is due to the time spent on the newsletter. I haven’t quite worked out my workflows yet, but once I do, I’ll be able to streamline and devote more time to Understanding Crime’s content.

Again, I’d like to invite you to subscribe to Explaining Crime. There is a paid option if you’d like to support my work, but you can also do sign up for free.

Currently, the newsletter has been a mix of Your First Five, some essays (Writing the Next Chapter and Why an entire newsletter devoted to explaining crime?), and What I Do, a series that features one person in the crime content space each week talking about what they actually do.

I’m also working on tutorials for using the scientific literature, writing for a general audience, and understanding crime statistics.

You should really check it out.

--

--

Aaron Jacklin
Understanding Crime

Creating quality, ethical nonfiction crime content. Criminology Journalist & Writing Coach.