Illu: ©UNDERSTATE

There’s something wrong with cancel culture

(And TikTok)

Published in
3 min readApr 3, 2021

--

I deleted TikTok approximately 6(ish) weeks ago, and one of the main reasons for doing so was because of how immature cancel culture is. I got tired of seeing “drama” or “feuding”, so I just left the app. There were definitely other reasons to my decision for deleting the app as a whole, but those are for another time. Let’s talk about cancel culture.

Cancel Culture is basically the group of people who think they have the authority to “cancel” someone- as in make everyone hate them, try to get rid of their fame, etc. Now, 2020 was the year of scandals and back and forth “are we supporting this person or not?” However, I must say, there definitely were some cases where I agreed with cancel culture, but for the most part, I think it’s pretty pathetic.

I was inspired to write this article after I decided to read about some TikToker drama. I regret reading that article. It was incredibly boring and I couldn’t care less about the topic. For a second I thought I lost brain cells.

Reading that article reminded me of why I deleted TikTok- DRAMA. So much drama, so much hypersensitivity, too much negativity, and too much of my mental health depleting. With that being said, here is why I hate cancel culture.

  1. Half the time, the person is being canceled because of something they said years ago- and I mean YEARS ago. I’ve seen people getting “canceled” for racial slurs they said when they were 13 or 14 or 15. People fail to realize that you can be a completely different person at 18 compared to when you were 15. Three years can change a lot about someone, and before you jump on the “cancel so-and-so” bandwagon, take a second to consider that someone out there deliberately went searching for this person’s flaws in hopes of ruining their career.
  2. It’s not really our place to sh*t on someone for past mistakes when some of us have made much more detrimental mistakes. In a way, I think cancel culture is overwhelmingly hypocritical. The only reason we know about this person’s mistakes is due to the fact that they’re famous. If it was you who was famous, do you think you would get canceled? Do you think someone who despised you would dig up some dirt? You get my point.
  3. There are much more important things to discuss. We could be talking about how to work with climate change, eliminating the pink tax for good, reforming our prison system, and more. Nobody really cares about a TikTok break up. Half of these “influencers” don’t actually want to influence. They just want money and fame. Where are the influencers that are trying to make a difference? They’re out there, but they’re being overshadowed by talentless and immature “influencers”.

Was this post passive aggressive? Yes. But that’s honestly how I feel about 90% of influencers and cancel culture. Every now and then, someone sheds light on how a certain celebrity may not be as they look, and that’s fine, but let the public interpret it how they wish. Although we might not like it, for some people, an over-imposed sexual assault allegations against their favorite celebrity don’t phase their opinion of said celebrity. Like I said, there are more important matters to discuss, so can cancel culture end? That would be lovely.

--

--

I like to write. INSTAGRAM: @reaganvioletg :)