Weekly Editorial #2

The cream of the week

Frank the man
UNDERSTATE
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Today I want to officially welcome Akarsh Nalawade, Andrew Kuo, Reagan and You-yeon Lee to the extended family here at UNDERSTATE magazine! Thank you so much guys for contributing with your work! I really loved each one of your precious opinions and art pieces and I hope all of you got a deserved round of applause from our readers, kinda literally speaking!

We’re still a tiny, tiny community but hopefully we can still find space to grow within the platform, as I hope more of intelligent and cultural content will be noticed and promoted. We’re all still trying, but I’m happy to see that we’re all slowly growing!

I hope this magazine could be more and more an opportunity to meet diversity of opinions and analysis on contemporary society and culture. As well as a place to rest with art and literature.

If you have missed some of the best stories, here the highligts of this week:

I’m terribly biased, but I love the ability of saigon garçon to propose always a fresh look by merging aesthetic with personal reflections. Definitely an alternative way of expression here on Medium!

Some personal reflections around race from James Ssekamatte, from his experience as a Black person in India, to the ramifications of race baiting in the contemporary discourse.

That was a very interesting read, I have to admit! The intersection of the western myth with past and present social evolutions in America. An original analysis on where America stands today and where is heading to, according to the best cinema interpretation of western.

Speaking about Cinema, what about some good movie suggestions from what the best India can offer? You don’t even need to try the new “Play Something” function on Netflix, because we got you covered!

Is there something wrong with cancel culture? Something I wonder about it, too. I loved the blunt and brutally honest tone of this article!

Is certainly a “hot topic” today, so what are your opinions about it?

I’m so honoured to give space and visibility to a talented artist like You-yeon Lee! Follow her too! She’s really a wonderful poet with words and brush strokes.

And finally, if you had enough of reading and you just want to chill this weekend, here’s a final selection of good Italian contemporary music to keep you inspired!

And that was this weekly round-up of some of the best and interesting articles here on Medium! I hope that all the good and varied content will satisfy everyone’s taste and curiosity!

Hope to keep the bar always high and in the meantime, as always, I want to thanks all the readers and wonderful writers!

Wanna stay in the loop? What do you think about a newsletter?

--

--

Frank the man
UNDERSTATE

Human mess in search of enlightment, living off second-hand advices and refrigerated dreams. Daily average man. Feel free to call me Frank.