Mediocre sucks in UB.

But most of the Ub-ers are mediocre.

Terguunjargal Jane
Undoing Project
6 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Photo by Altai Baatarkhuu

We’re here almost halfway through the right middle of Mongolia's harsh winter- dry and freezing cold.

I haven’t experienced Ub’s (Ulan Bator, Mongolia) brutal winter since 2014, which made my immune system weak in cold exposure.

Luckily long enough lockdown since last November kept me alive without even giving me any hardship almost throughout the winter.

I completed my graduate school (holy cow, those three years have flown by and I suffered a lot, which was worth it).

Eventually, after 5 years of discovery about life and roaming around Asia, I came back to UB, faced an immediately harsh winter, heavy air pollution, and a brutal job-seeking process.

I’ve been learning A LOT about the labor market in UB.

I want to let you know how you have to survive Mongolia's job industry.

This post is for only Mongolians.

If you’re a foreigner you'll get anything you want if you just can speak English as a social norm, which I don’t admire.

A new season of the lockdown of E-Tsagaan Sar, which made me reflect a bit on my post-grad journey.

First of all, I had a general idea of the job hunting- just send my CV, resumes, and cover letters through “Zangia.mn”, which is the only platform you can hire someone or get hired.

You may say what about the “Job vacancy in Mongolia,”(Facebook page) or SCC, Mongolian Talent network. I do check them on a daily basis. I’d say the information that agencies provide is pretty much similar to what Zangia does.

I knew that I needed to have a resume, and I knew that I would need to write cover letters. I knew that eventually, I would need to go to interviews with people who asked daunting questions. (One asked my horoscope! My freaking horoscope!!!)

Unluckily, I don’t have some awesome mentors and friends who had experience with all of this and were willing to share tips and information with me. I had to learn some things for myself- interviews to interviews.

Rejected From Khan-Bank

It all started nice and smooth.

(I applied for CEO’s assistant which was not a suitable position for me.)

They questioned my reliability and ability to keep secrets. And if I can handle coffees as usual. Asked about my daily routines, my marital status, even what time I do wake up.

I assumed the CEO got damn secrets to his/her assistant to keep well.

This interview was my first ever one. HR managers interviewed me in a decent meeting room. The office was very berry modern and newly built, where I almost got lost.

Man! I quite liked it there. The combination of art and classy office.

For an interview, to be honest, I didn’t prepare my speech to deliver at that time. I just showed up as far as know I brought out myself as a newly packaged product to the job market.

I haven’t done that SWOT analysis on me yet. When they asked about my disadvantages I acted like I’m the perfect one who is the right target for the vacancy.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get the job, which I saw on the bright side it was a good experience. It was a good test.

Somedays I'm like, I Just Found My Dream Job… Now What?

Well, honestly I'm not qualified for the job requirements that head hunters necessities-10 years of experience with 3 degrees minimum!

I’m young and spent most of my 20’s abroad- busting my ass off to survive in a real war, doubting if had daily incomes to feed myself.

Mongolians labor market…

I am sorry, I got to say “They don’t value you”. (Minimum wage is 420K tugriks)

Tired of 100x job interviews asking me if I’m 10 years experienced with perfect skills to manage their jobs done.

For sure, I know I’m good enough. Often times I’m overqualified for what they’re looking for.

I’m passionate enough to get their shit together.

But they are not qualified enough to hire someone who is really great.

I see how a professional HR officer is setting up her works and scheduling meeting with job seekers.

The other day HR manager who was smoking right in front of her office asked to interview me in the lobby without even introducing herself but with a smoky breathe. I still doubt her if she was the HR manager.

Because of shut-down for almost 2 months straight (was it? It seemed so long to me), I changed my direction a bit and signed up for italki, freelancer, Upwork.

I submitted my proposals and cover letter and waited. And waited. There was no one to email or check in with once I hit the “submit” button and that was so frustrating to me! I knew I needed to follow up.

on Upwork, I almost got a job but my hopelessness killed the opportunity to grab a project.

Even though an employer who is from Poland asked me if I am available, she chose to hire someone else instead of waiting for my 8 hours late answer.

I also interviewed from Thailand based company- acknowledged my resume was not that great for their qualifications. I ended up editing my resume again.

Since then, I'm submitting my proposals consistently. I'm pretty sure I’d get a good one as my backup plan.

Why should I hire you, Dear?

If you are somewhere in the world wondering how things are going in Mongolia. Wondering how you get employed without any networking in UB.

Well, it all depends on you.

If you’re the UK, US graduate, +5 years of experience in mega projects, or have previously employed in the World bank. Bravo!

YOU ARE GOOD to go. Aggressive head hunters will hunt you down immediately.

If you’re qualified enough as I mentioned, wherever you are, YOU ARE GOOD.

Do not come back, unless you want to be an entrepreneur and challenge yourself.

Otherwise, they treat you with 800,000 MNT after-tax and tell you- you have to multitask and manage their project just by yourself with a low budget under the name of the organization that manipulated to be considered top 10 in the market.

On the bright side, I noticed that if the majority of the Board of Directors are foreign investors, Company's HR policy is very good, so does the company’s culture.

You gotta value yourself.

Most of corporations often question your oral and writing English fluency.

Please ask me something in English, if you really require it, I’m thrilled to deliver something in my mind.

I mostly prepare my English and Korean speech before job interviews.

But they don't.

By the way, someone wanted to hire me as an English teacher and asked me to start immediately right after the job interview.

You have to set your standards for the companies and organizations where you are applying. Especially the company culture -a set of shared values, goals, attitudes, and practices that characterize an organization.

You have to know where you deserve to be.

The American dream doesn't work right it runs in UB, in most cases.

If you consider yourself mediocre. You have to make yourself better.

Job seeking in lack of confidence is brutal. Headhunters will tear you apart tell you you're not qualified…

I'm an MBA Graduate from the Seoul National University of Science and Technology.

Also, graduated from the National University of Mongolia with 3 years of working experience as foreign trade manager in the construction industry.

I'm really passionate about what I do and currently learning project management.

Over the last 5 years, I’ve made an effort to explore myself more to tell a story as a lifestyle blogger in English and Mongolian.

Believe me, and I’m excellent to get hunted by those head hunters in the field.

You can learn about me more on https://www.terguunjargal.net/

I’m a self-taught English speaker, who always strives to get better.

If you notice any grammatical mistakes, feel free to highlight and comment.

In the next one, I will talk about how I get employed.

^^ Jane with hope ^^

--

--