The GinyUUU Force? Conquering the Galaxy with original content!

Expectations vs Reality — Upbet and end of year

Vol 1, Issue 7

U Network
Published in
5 min readOct 27, 2019

--

A very quick edition of U News this month. Ken has been busy writing updates to the U Network community, which on there own are great articles and there are links below. Price has remained somewhat stable predominately between 6–8 satoshi’s, except for one run up to 10 sats and it appears CoinMarketCap have resolved the circulating supply issue. This month I go into what I think is still achievable by end of 2019 as well a small discussion about Upbet’s recent Twitter post.

Expectations vs Reality

Not many of you know that my 9–5 job is as a Operations Manager of a warehouse. In this role I have to solve many issues on a daily basis such as staff disputes, find and order inventory, engage with customers, and in particular manage everyone's expectations. This last aspect of the role is by far the most challenging (after staff maybe???), trying to make sure that every party gets roughly what they want in an appropriate time frame. Frequently I have to be the bearer of not so great news to others in our organisation as well as clients about why something isn't going to them or why a job isn't done or to their expectations. Sometimes what others expect is more than I or my team can reasonably deliver — and sometimes stuff just goes wrong!. To this end, I remember that one of my previous managers always stressed to only ever aim to Deliver In Full On Time (DIFOT). Having goals based around a DIFOT principle allows us to manage peoples expectations better. As part of how I go about doing my job, I use DIFOT all the time along with under commit and over deliver. This second part of how I manage is crucially important as it avoids disappointment in most cases.

Above is a my story and relates directly to the U Network story of 2019 so far. To be fair the team had been following their DIFOT strategy most of the time, it has only been since the price action from May to July where not only the team but maybe the community started to get unrealistic expectations (yes me included…). We all got caught up in the meteoric rise from obscurity to first page on CoinMarketCap, this is probably the only time that the team has started creating goals which were physically outside their control. I think many of the goals were based around a continued surge in price and popularity and as we know this hasn’t happened which would have allowed the team to expand. If the team replaced the word “Road map” with “Goal” on the above that came out in July, I think we would all be more grounded as I believe the connotation for a road map is how we will get somewhere as opposed to what we want to achieve.

So what can we realistically expect by end of year? I would say anything the team can directly control. They will work feverishly to deliver on all the outcomes they can to restore investor and market credibility. We have been confirmed the Up-Vote plug in and New Version for Upbet. My sources have told me that the new version for Upbet will be ready shortly and Ken You spoke about the IPFS Integration in his article below. Outside of these controlled outcomes I am not sure we will see the community numbers or CMC Rank that we were hoping for in July, that said this is crypto and things change very quickly as we know.

Upbet — Question time

I am not going to go into an in depth critique about Upbet again and the way I and other community believe it can be improved (check any of the previous U News articles), however Upbet posted in the above tweet about the challenges people face when using it. A couple of feedback's came up though regarding the challenges of having only a yes/no voting system and distribution of rewards. Indeed I had a many a tweet shared with KoningBeatrix regarding the later point. Whilst I understand the points KoningBeatrix was making and did my best to explain, it did kind of reaffirm at least in part the need for a weighting system to be in place and for a better and clearer FAQ page/link to be developed by the Upbet team.

What challenges do you have when using Upbet? Maybe it is something I have listed previously or something entirely different. What ever it is please make sure to share your thoughts with the Upbet team in either the Upbet Telegram or reply to the above tweet as Upbet will only become as good as the effort we all put into it.

Notable U Network News and Upbet Markets

Click through to below to find out more!

If you want to find out more about U Network, also see the official channels below:

Follow on Twitter, Reddit, Facebook and Medium to keep informed

Join the discussions on Telegram and Discord.

Discover the code at Github and the vision at the Website

Play and Win at Upbet and add value to the community at UBuild.

I am community member of U Network and follow their official channels. All opinions in this piece are my own and may not reflect that of U Network.

If you want to follow me, I am active on Twitter @tennisnick1 and @UNewsHQ. You can also find me on the U Network Official Telegram and Discord channels with the tennisnick1 handle. Donations to UNews can be made following this link.

--

--

Nick Jenkinson
U Network

Husband, Father of 2, Time Poor but trying a Beep Test for Fitness experiment. Follower of cryptocurrency and former writer of U News reporting on U Network.