It’s Time for My Ex-wife’s Boyfriend to Meet the Kids. And I Feel…

Photo by Tim Cooper on Unsplash

Happy?

Yeah, I think I’m happy.

I’m nervous too.

Nervous that they’ll like him more than what feels comfortable to me. Nervous that my ex-wife and him might break up and the kids might take it hard not seeing him again.

If I’m being really honest, I’m nervous they might think he’s cooler than me. Especially while he’s the new guy initially and might show them new experiences.

I’ve been divorced for almost five years now. Neither of us has introduced a significant other to the kids, who are six and seven now, so this is a first for both of us.

Okay, but You’re Not Really Happy, Right?

When my ex-wife, always the great communicator, told me she was going to introduce him via a text message, mixed in with logistics about school that week, I was surprised. It took me a few minutes to process what I felt. Ultimately I felt slightly anxious, but I was more relieved than anything.

That text message marked a new stage of our relationship. Other than Donald, the manipulative creep she left me for, and Teresa, who I met after my ex-wife left me (and tried to make her jealous of Teresa), neither of us has known anything about each other’s…

--

--

Much Reassembly Required
Unfaithful: Perspectives on the Third-Party Relationship

I’m a divorced dad reassembling life after my marriage ended unexpectedly. It’s been a ride, but I’m happier now than I was before. Hoping to help others.