Writing: An Unfinished Product

Carolyn Kopprasch
Unfinished Product
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2019

A handful of years ago, I wrote. I blogged about business questions, lessons learned, celebrations, and even occasionally even about personal finance. Not all the time, but often enough to tell a few stories. And then, at some point, I stopped writing.

Correction: I stopped sharing. I still write an ungodly amount of words every day in emails, meeting notes, and internal documents. My writing hasn’t stopped. Instead, it’s just been a long while since I’ve exercised the muscle of getting over myself and pressing publish.

Recently, a friend and mentor of mine, Todd Curtis, proposed that we both start to write again. He had noticed a similar thing — lots of writing, but not much sharing.

To rewind a couple of years, Todd and I met and developed an immediate and natural friendship when we discovered that our careers had taken remarkably similar turns. We were often wrestling with similar challenges at work, so we started catching up regularly. During our chats, I’d often blurt out “that would be a great blog post!” when he told me stories of lessons learned. I started writing down his casual wisdom in order to quote it back to him over email later. Similarly, Todd would often tell me that my advice had helped him work through a tough situation. For a while, we left it at that. Stories traded, advice given, careers examined, and life celebrated.

Fast forward to 2019, and we’ve decided to write, this time together. And we’d like to share some of these stories with you.

One theme of our chats over the years has been how interesting it is to be in progress — in whatever it is we are doing and learning. So we’re going to write about life as an unfinished product. Stay tuned for some stories from startups on customer service, product, leadership, and learning. Thanks for stopping by!

Photo by Xyla Abella on Unsplash

--

--

Carolyn Kopprasch
Unfinished Product

Chief of Special Projects at @buffer. Tea, country music, and startup life make my world turn.