The sky’s the limit

UNHCR Innovation Service
UNHCR Innovation Service
5 min readApr 28, 2020
Kelly T. Clements, Deputy High Commissioner of UNHCR, with Alix Himbazi, Innovation Service intern, in Geneva Headquarters, Switzerland.

My name is Alix Marie Himbaza and I am currently living in Rwanda under refugee status. I am sharing my story to tell people that refugee status is not a status of inability. It is instead a document for identification.

How it started

“I am the lucky one,” I said when I saw the email notification saying that I have been offered an internship at UNHCR. Let me take you back to how believing in yourself can generate things that you want to see — as well as the unexpected.

In fact, having refugee status has not stopped me from pursuing my dream of finishing secondary school or undertaking a university degree with a scholarship. My refugee status does not define what I am capable of within my life or this world. Today, I am pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree in Arts from Southern New Hampshire University with a major in Communications, which is facilitated through the Kepler program in Kigali.

It was during the afternoon on a rainy day when I was at the campus doing my receptionist job as usual. I decided to explore the website of UNHCR to see what was being advertised. When I was a kid, I dreamt of working in a humanitarian non-profit organization. My dad once worked in the UN as a driver. Being the daughter of someone working in the UN made me feel so proud. Due to becoming one under UN support now, I wanted to work and support my community. Immediately as I scrolled through the bulky website, I saw a communications intern post. My interest was piqued, and I started the process immediately because I happened to discover the post on the final day it was open. It felt like fate, and I gave the application my best shot.

We define our destiny

In Kirundi, there is a saying: ‘Imana Ifasha uwifashije’. It means ‘God helps those who help themselves’. I decided to not move from the campus even though my working hours were over so I could finish the application on time. I didn’t even stop to eat as I was fighting against the minutes of time.

I was supported by my advisor from Kepler who guided me through the whole process of filling out the application form. However, I feared that I would not make it on time when I faced poor internet connection and my laptop kept crashing. None of these frustrations discouraged me and I kept on going. I made it before the deadline and submitted my application form and then anxiously waited for the response.

I was sitting in the main hall doing my CfA (College for America) projects when I checked my emails. An email from UNHCR said I was given the internship! I directly called my mother, who had been praying that my application would be successful, to inform her and she was extremely happy and she encouraged me to always believe in myself and my hard work. This effort enabled me to become the Communications Intern with UNHCR Innovation and the Community Based Protection team in UNHCR’s Kigali office.

You might ask yourself if you can do it as a refugee. Yes, you can! And I encourage you to search for such opportunities regardless of your situation.

A wow time!

The first time I came to UNHCR’s office to sign my internship contract, I was happy and proud as ever. Everything was totally new: the online systems of the organization, the code of conduct, the procedures around how some activities are implemented. Briefings were organized to enable me to get to know my new workplace.

Working alongside people with different positions taught me a lot on how I should behave professionally, do my work and ask for support from the right people. I had a chance to showcase my design skills through using Publisher and Adobe Photoshop Express to create messages to be shared with the refugee community’s Emergency Transit Mechanism. I supported in communicating different opportunities to refugees via social media and community-based protection communication channels. I was able to learn how to make very innovative and creative changes on possible opportunities, whether they were related to livelihoods or skill development.

The jury meeting of the NGO Innovation Awards, Geneva.

My most unexpected experience was the honor of meeting UNHCR’s Deputy High Commissioner (DHC) in Geneva, at UNHCR’s Headquarters. I was chosen to be a jury member, as a refugee and intern, for the NGO Innovation Awards. I supported the selection of the NGOs that had the most innovative ideas for refugee communities. The DHC encouraged me and gave me advice for professional growth such as working hard, making different connections with other organizations, and not forgetting to keep learning along the journey.

It seems that time disappears in dusty sunlight and smoke. It is now more than eight months since I started interning with UNHCR and I have learned a lot — including that there is much more to learn. I encourage my fellow refugees to try their chances and keep applying anywhere they see an opportunity.

I thank UNHCR for this initiative to employ the people they are striving to serve and I encourage UNHCR to keep the gates open, creating spaces for refugees to work for their own community. As I move on to new horizons and challenges, including finishing my studies, I plan to stay connected with community center programmes and activities and to be a part of the change in my community.

I applied to a UNHCR partner that is now in charge of the community center and all other camps and, luckily, I got the job as their Community Center Manager with the support of a recommendation letter from UNHCR. I have started making changes. As a result, I will be able to produce messages to be shared with other refugees so they can come and be trained to do income-generating activities.

--

--

UNHCR Innovation Service
UNHCR Innovation Service

The UN Refugee Agency's Innovation Service supports new and creative approaches to address the growing humanitarian needs of today and the future.