FAB Project: 3D Printed Heart Equation

Shu Takahashi
Unicorn Digest
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2020

This post is a repost from my main Portfolio Website originally posted in January of 2018.

This project was an unusual mini project. Back in G10, my math teacher joked (I still can’t tell when he’s joking or being serious most of the time) that I should 3D print him something. It was because, ahem, I requested too many ‘re-marks’ for method points during that year. My classmate, who was a math genius (seriously he’s a math prodigy) overheard our conversation and suggested the I 3D print him the 3D heart equation.

I had no idea how I could export the 3D surface of this equation into formats like STL. But after some googling, I found out that I can export 3D equation surfaces into STL using Wolfram Mathematica. I don’t have screenshots of this process anymore, but I managed to import the 3D model into Fusion 360. From here, I designed the base to hold the heart and display the equation.

I 3D printed the heart and cut out the base parts out of acrylic using a laser cutter. Then I used a heat gun to bed the ends of the base plate to make it stand on its own.

The final product turned out well. My math teacher said he ‘likes’ it (again, it’s hard to tell) and my classmates enjoyed the display as well. Still to this day, this heart is displayed on my math teacher’s desk.

--

--