The Horrors and Secrets of Organic Chemistry in 5 Min

Organic Chemistry Edition

Megan A. Lim
Bear with Us
Published in
6 min readJan 14, 2019

--

As a Bioengineer, I am required to take introductory Organic Chemistry classes as part of my curriculum. Indeed, those could not call themselves “scientists” if they did not understand the fundamentals of Organic Chemistry.

After blindly taking my first intro class, I realized that I absolutely hated Ochem with a passion. It was like general Chemistry but worse, because it was harder and more foreign. Most high schools don’t offer Ochem classes and I could not grasp how floating, little shapes that moved around each other could call themselves a science.

15 weeks later, second intro class completed, and I catch myself calling Ochem fun. Bewildered by such an outlandish statement I was now capable of making, I enrolled in an advanced course just to confirm my madness.

Fast forward a few semesters later and I now not only love Organic Chemistry, but am looking to explore it on a deeper level.

You see, learning Organic Chemistry goes something like this:

Organic Chemistry colorized

--

--