Dinner’s in the Fridge

unintended
unintended stories
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2021

A story written by Hilary during the workshop we ran at IxD21

In a world where*
- Power increasingly controlled by data owners and service providers
- Data proves its one-dimensionality and superficiality
- Lack of empathy within actors, services is designed for buyers

How does a day look like when we eat?

Modified — Photo by nrd on Unsplash

I get home from work at 5pm, great I’m on target for a ‘family’ dinner. I’ll meet this month’s goals. I know Tom won’t be physically there, but he’ll join us by AR.

I tap on Fridge to see the family meal plan for today. Today’s recipe has a 4 star health rating but Fridge says we’re out of fresh mint. I tap to send the order to the local store. Fridge notifies me Sarah is on her way home from soccer practice and her gps tracker says she’ll pass the store in 10 minutes. I tap yes for Fridge to send Sarah a message.

I start making dinner — Fridge displays the recipe and talks me through how to make the dinner including giving me timing prompts! Oh I love Fridge, he’s made life much easier.

Sarah comes in drops the mint on the counter and stamps off to her room. What’s wrong with her? I know it’s raining but it wasn’t that far out of her way.

At 5.45pm, Fridge announces dinner to all the speakers and headphones in the house so all the family knows it’s time for dinner. Fridge sends me a private message to say that Sarah has disconnected and has gone for a shower.

Mark and I sit down to dinner, Tom appears on the wall beside the table…”Hi there! How are you all? Hey, where is Sarah? It’s family dinner night….”

Fridge is playing classical music in the background and has dimmed the lighting.

*the characteristics of this world were collaboratively defined by the team during the workshop. In the following article, you can find more details about the workshop activities.

--

--

unintended
unintended stories

unintended is a community-based research lab experimenting at the intersection of design, systems and futures. www.unintended.design