My Journey from Zero-Knowledge of Computers to Owning a Software House

Smash Code
Unique Content
Published in
8 min readFeb 16, 2022
Image created by Author

Hey guys!

In this blog, I will share my journey of becoming a successful freelancer and company owner from scratch. My life story may inspire you and help you come out of your comfort zone and reach the highest level of your potential. Here I go.

Not Born with a spoon of Gold in the Mouth

I am Ismail from Faisalabad, Pakistan. In 6th class, I came to know about financial issues in my home. I belong to a middle-class family. I used to ask my teacher what I could study for 1 or 2 years and then start earning money.

I wanted to support my family. My teacher told me that first, I had to complete F.sc, B.sc, and Masters before looking for a job.

But, I was not ready to wait for such a long period.

I believe, “Where there is a will, there is a way.”

After my Matriculation, I came to know about Web development as a high-paying skill. At that time, I had zero knowledge of web development. I had only done a basic computer course with no Wi-Fi connection available.

At that time, I didn’t know much how to research on the Internet.

Somehow, I researched web development on a mobile phone with a limited internet connection so that I could learn something about this skill.

Later on, I came to know about Aptech Institute which was offering a web development course. When I checked the fees, it was too high.

For a moment, I thought I can’t learn this skill.

Nonetheless, as I said earlier, where there is a will, there is a way’.

God Helps Those Who Never Quit

One day, Saylani welfare Trust came to our college and offered a free course in web development. I just wondered how Allah Almighty provided me with the opportunity at the exact time when I was looking for it. They had offered the same course I was looking for.

I was lucky to be among the 600 selected students shortlisted from 4000. I started the course. At that time, I had a core to duo laptop with 2 GB Ram and 80 GB hard with no internet facility.

With less knowledge and no internet connection, I started learning web development. Since I was going to college, teaching tuition, and going to my Dad’s shop, it was hard for me to pay full attention to my course.

Anyways, I continued to learn. By the grace of Allah, I was among the top 14 students who completed the course. We all were told that we were going to receive certificates from Mr. President. But, due to some confusion on the part of management, my name was not included among the 14 finalists. It was so heart-breaking for me.

Nevertheless, I continued to attend the class on weekends for 10 months without any leave to enjoy my weekends.

How I Faced Rejection

After a lot of hard work, I decided to look for a job. I went for a job interview. But of no avail. I realized at that time that I was not yet ready for the market. So, I decided to prepare myself to become pro.

After completing my ICS, I decided to take a break from my study for a whole year and went through the entire course again.

Special thanks to my parents who supported me in every situation.

Guys, I want to tell you that all your parents expect from you is just to pay attention to your studies, realize your financial condition and act accordingly. I suggest that never demand what your parents cannot provide you, rather stand by them and work for enabling yourself to give them financial help.

How I bounced back

Back to the story, I restarted doing my web development practice. I used to code 16 hours a day. Also, I joined Techna Institute in Faisalabad for the web development course so that I can get a job after completing the course. I completed the course.

At that time, I was confident that I was now ready to give my services. So, I prepared almost 50 functional websites for practice and created a strong portfolio, and went for an interview.

To make my portfolio website attractive, I worked on it for the whole night, but they did not even bother to check it. 😢

But, I didn’t give up. I started a non-paid internship in a software house. Again, I could not get what I was looking for.

At that time, I began to think whether I had chosen the right path or wasted 3 years of my life learning web development.

I thought I am responsible for my own decision. Neither my family nor any friend knew what I had been going through.

At that time, it was only my Allah I.

How I started My Freelance Journey

Although I was in the freelancing group of dear Sir Hisham, I was not focusing on what he was saying. Then, I began to listen to him carefully. I attentively listened to his freelancing course. I watched his videos for a month. I created an account on Fiverr and began to hunt clients.

Some of the teachers told me that you should say yes only when you know about the work. Otherwise, simply say no.

I saw some freelancers outsourcing and getting orders in which they were not even confident.

Fiverr Journey

When I started on Fiverr, I received many messages from clients, but I was not okay with the projects. So I honestly said no.

On 4 March 2020, a client posted a project regarding a to-do app. I had a gig for this. This project involved a lot of technical work in which I was supposed to build an employee management system with a backend and database.

It required a lot of work. The client wanted fast delivery of the project just in 3 days and only for 15 USD.

It was a make-or-break time. I took up the project as a challenge. My friend and I worked day and night on the project, fulfilled the requirements of the client, and got 5 — a star review. Then the client wanted me to do some modifications. This time, I charged 320 USD in total for his website.

That is how I started on Fiverr.

As time passed, I continued to get orders. Only in 46 days, I fulfilled the requirement of a level 1 seller.

But, I had to wait for the badge for 60 days. However, I got 80 percent of orders from buyer requests.

So, I didn’t pay much attention to my gigs and focused on completing orders. The reason is that the more we complete orders, the higher our gigs rank.

Later on, I canceled some orders on account of which I could not get level 1 and so had to wait for the badge.

For almost 3 to 4 months I didn’t get any orders. But, it is business, there are ups and downs, so I didn’t let myself feel demotivated.

In my life, I have realized that noting can motivate us if we are not ready to take responsibility. And if we are ready to take responsibility, we do not need any motivation at all.

At that moment, I made my profession my passion.

To be honest, programming was not my passion. All I knew was that it was a good-paying skill. So, from then on, I made my profession my passion.

I know it is the opposite of what is usually believed.

When I got a Fiverr level I badge, almost all my gigs were de-ranked. I solved this problem by focusing on buyers’ requests and completing the orders. As a result, my gigs ranked again.

In 2020, Sir Hisham told freelancers that they will not get many orders in December because of Christmas. Everyone was complaining in the group about not getting orders, but I had plenty of orders at that time.

To get level 2 badge I had to wait for 10 months. The reason was that I used to get clients outside Fiverr.

However, after some time, I came to know that it was not a good practice to get clients outside any platform. It is better to look for clients within freelance marketplaces.

Recently I have become a Top Rated Seller! on Fiverr.🤩

I have learned this golden principle in my life that every problem has a solution. What we need is to figure out how we can solve it.

So, think positive and magic will happen in your life.

Then, I decided to make a team. So, I hired some people for project-based work.

My YouTube Channel

Also, I started a YouTube channel for teaching web development. In my videos, I have ensured that anyone who even doesn’t know much about computers can start the web development course.

Here is my YouTube channel

Later on, I created an account on Upwork. Initially, I wasted so many “connects’. Then one day, I got one order only for 3 dollars per hour. It was a low rate, but nothing is easy at the start. Later on, my friend and I created a landing page for 150 USD and it was a good price.

Because of the workload from Fiverr, I couldn’t pay much attention to Upwork, but for now, I have shifted to Upwork and maintaining both profiles at the same time, because I believe we should never put all our eggs in one basket

Another memorable day of my life was when I was invited for an interview with sir Hisham on his channel and it was the best day of my life because I had learned a lot from him.

Awards & Certificate

As I grew as a freelancer, I was also awarded by connected Pakistan at their conference of 2021 and 2022 consecutively as the top-rated seller of Pakistan certified by the government of KPK.

Receiving award at CPC conference 2021
Receiving award at CPC conference 2022

In 2023, I received certificate at CPC conference as the top-rated seller of Pakistan.

Receiving certificate at CPC conference 2023

Own a Software House

Currently, I am running a remote software house with 15 team members salary-based. I now have direct clients of big firms from all over the world.

To check my profile and projects, you can visit my company website.

My mission is to make my software house number in the county and create maximum job opportunities for youngsters.

I aim to support my family and every new person who wants to become a web developer.

I have also started a blog website that covers the categories of Freelancing, AI, programming languages, Cryptocurrency, Technology, Trending Topics, and Success stories.

Check out my blog website here.

I wish you all best of luck!

Hey, if you want to read more life-changing success stories, click here.

--

--

Smash Code
Unique Content

We write about Coding, Freelancing, Metaverse, Technology, Crypto and Success stores. Contact me here:https://smashcode.dev/