Asian Confessions: Defying the Stereotypes

Allison Cecile
United States of Race
4 min readApr 9, 2021

--

A light-hearted take on cultural assumptions

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The stereotyping of Asian Americans as the “model minority” is a serious topic. And while there are many very good sources discussing the impacts of it, this story won’t be one of them.

I’m all for advocating for equality. I’m all for putting an end to racial discrimination. I’m all for putting those prejudices behind us.

It’s just that it’s a real downer. It’s a depressing topic riddled with heartbreaking stories and unfair situations.

I can’t stand up to the full momentum from centuries of society’s stereotypes. But I can dispel a few of the more light-hearted stereotypes if you’re interested.

Let’s begin.

  1. I’m not good at math

Once upon a time, I used to rock the “mad minutes” math exercises in school. Not because I’m Asian, but because my parents made me do Kumon, so basically after I finished math homework from school, my reward was … more math homework.

As a professional engineer, I’ve taken (and passed) advanced-level calculus classes. At one point, I could even do the fancy math that has more letters in it than numbers.

But sometime after the popularization of smartphones, my brain got lazy. It’s just too convenient…

--

--

Allison Cecile
United States of Race

I write so that my dog can live a spoiled life of luxury || 8X Top Writer