Starting up with Game Development in Unity — Part One

Trying to understand a new world…

IronicNet
Unity Development

--

I work as a Sr .Net Developer and Architect in a Media Network company in Argentina.

I’m very used to program, design, test and optimize code. I can forecast how the code would be before coding. I still can’t do this in Unity.

I have a lot of ideas for games:

Choosing the Game Type

The first step was to decide what kind of game did i want to make. An RTS? an FPS? a Graphical Adventure? a Puzzle? etc…

I was between two options:

  • A nice point-and-click graphical adventure but in 3D.
  • An RTS game like ‘Settlers II’

A graphical adventure is easier. It doesn't require any kind of crazy AI. As a developer you have a lot of control about what the player is doing and can do.
It requires a lot details in the scenes and a well thought game flow.

An RTS is harder. You have buildings, units, camera control, AI, a good GUI is important. It has a lot of behaviors and stuff.

Soon i will post the Part Two

--

--

IronicNet
Unity Development

Un geek se balanceaba sobre la cuerda de la araña, como veia que resistia lo twittteo a otro geek...