The Need to Make A Difference

Julia Hyman
Universal Housing
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2017
Corner of Wisconsin and M Street NW in Washington, D.C.

“It was a frigid December morning as I walked briskly down M Street in Washington, D.C., with four friends by my side. We were on our way to brunch at one of my favorite spots as I noticed numerous individuals scattered along the sidewalk, block after block, begging for food, money, or anything to aid them during those bitter winter months. Seeing them wrapped tightly in blankets and, with the wind whipping around us, I felt a chill run through my body.

I thought to myself, “How is it fair that not everyone has a place to live? How is it fair that not everyone has a bed on which to lay their bodies at night?” This reality was incomprehensible to me, a tragic and glaring travesty. It was unjust.

Imagine what it’s like being homeless in the bitter winter months. With this interactive experience, you are able to just barely grasp this horrifying reality.

Truly begin to understand the gravity of homelessness and hunger in America:

Yes, I had thought about this before. Yes, I had seen homeless people before. However, there was something different about this morning. It was December 4th, and I stood there motionless on the corner of Wisconsin and M streets, feeling helpless and disconsolate.

I wanted to do something, but I knew I couldn’t. I wanted to provide a house for every single person in need. I knew this wasn’t possible, but I did know that I could try to make a difference.”

It was at this moment that I realized it would be my life goal not to hope to make a difference, but rather to make it certain that I would. You are able to make a difference too. It is just a matter of whether or not deep down you have the drive and determination to make a change and change the world for the better. You have the power to revitalize cities and rebuild the American dream.

“We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone” -Ronald Reagan

--

--

Julia Hyman
Universal Housing

Author of Universal Housing: How to Revitalize Cities and Rebuild the American Dream