Ash (Part First)

Green
Universe Factory
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2015

Comfortable darkness. Warmth and softness. I suppose I should open my eyes. No, not yet. Still sleepy. Stretch! Oh ho! That’s right, she’s here with me.

My face is warm to the touch from the late July sunshine. Thank God for sunscreen. I don’t burn but it’s hot today. She and I have been out on the paddleboards for about two hours, working our way through mangrove thicket. Mosquitos aren’t too bad, yet. In that dreamlike way of just knowing, I know that she and I have been together for 8 months, just taking it slow. So far the relationship has been high on passion, low on commitment but in the last month or so that seems to have changed. She still had her place and I, mine.

“I love you.”

<Splash>

With my eyes full of brackish water, l looked up to see her glancing down at me, waiting. You do?

“Yes, I do. What’s not to love?”

Hearts aren’t supposed to burn like this.

No, not yet. Still sleepy. Mmmm, she’s still in bed too. Good.

Why on earth would I do something like that to? Good damn you Woman! I didn’t mean that and you know it. This is a different kind of heat in my chest. I don’t like this kind but I can’t help it.

<Sobs> “Then why say it?”

I don’t know. I just don’t know. It just slips out sometimes. I turn away. I hate seeing her cry so I wait to a bit then turn back around. I’m sorry. I really am.

“Just try not to be mean, please.”

Of course not. Her hug is surprisingly strong. I lean in and hug her back.

I can feel a hand on my arm. It’s warm and the grip is firm but gentle.

“Easy.”

Deep breath. Another deep breath.

“Bad dream?”

Yeah.

“What about?”

That bad fight last week.

“Oh. Well come here.”

The bed bounces a bit as she moves to put her head on my shoulder and her body next to mine. She is always so warm, even in December. I’m not sure how she does it since I’m always freezing in the winter.

“You’re always so comfortable.” as she nuzzles into my shoulder.

She always says that and it makes me smile. I look up at the ceiling. It looks greyer than usual. Hmm. That’s funny. Must be the light. I know that today is special, not because it’s a Tuesday but because there’s small box with something shiny in it in my sock drawer.

Deep breath.

Deep breath.

There’s a kiss on my cheek. That feels so fantastic! Big plans today. Heart beat is elevated. Of course it is. I turn over to look at her. For a split second her face is that rosy complexion of someone who is very warm under the covers. There’s a small come-hither look on her face atop a very slight smile. Then it turns an sickly ashen grey. Like a real grey.

Good morning! It’s a wonderful day!

There’s no answer. The sheets look the same ashen grey.

She hasn’t moved…isn’t moving. Why isn’t she moving? I’m awake! I’m awake! This can’t be a dream! Why isn’t she moving?! I reach out to touch her face and it crumbles to my touch. The sheets crumble too. What is happening? I’m stunned beyond words. After a few moments I reach under the cover to touch her waist. My hand slides between cloth sheets to touch a waist and hips made of ash. The fine powder sticks to my hand and wrist!

What is that screaming? Who’s screaming? They’re awfully close. Wait. Is that me? Oh God! That’s me!

I tear off the sheets without looking. I have to get out. Have to get away. Out. Out. Out! Away from this waking nightmare. I look back at disbelief at the ashes of my hopes. The formerly cloth sheets turn to ash where they lay. The pillows and headboard also turn grey. The paint turns grey too. Everything is grey and death.

To the door. The whole door lock comes out in my hand as the door turns to ash too. Grey, grey, grey, everywhere. The glass from the front door shatters on the door sill.

It’s cold outside, I don’t even notice. I look up the street to see the trees, bushes and flowers go from rich chocolates and luscious greens to grey, monotonous ash. What is happening to me? What is this? Oh god! Oh god! Oh god! What is happening?

I look the other way down my street. Mrs Spencer! Mrs…ash. Her dog, Tomkins…ash.

My knees sink to the pavement, my hands cover my eyes. My wet eyes. What is happening?

CC BY-NC via Wikimedia Commons

This short scene is based on my answer to this question about what would happen if everything organic that a person sees turns to ash. My answer touched on a possible circumstance where the cursed person’s significant other is in bed with them and the first thing they see in the morning is the ashes of their loved one. A bit macabre but it followed from the curse in question.

--

--