Supers: Chapter 1

Firestryke
Universe Factory
Published in
4 min readDec 4, 2020

I was attempting to save three kids from a fire in my school. One of those kids was my best friend, Drake.

So I swooped in with my wings and grabbed one of the kids, Jackson, in my arms. He, for some reason, didn’t like that.

He cursed and said, “Stupid supers. What makes you think we need your help?”

“I could drop you,” I replied.

He shut up then. Jackson was one of those who hated superheroes or, more commonly known as supers. Even so, I carried him to where the firefighters were waiting and dropped him on the pavement, and then flew back to rescue the others.

The other two kids, Drake and Bethany, were much easier to rescue as they weighed waaay less. But it still was a challenge with the fire singeing my wings. But I got them out and deposited them safely with the firefighters. After all, I was the Winged Warrior.

After they were all rescued my best friend approached me away from the others.

“I recognize you.” He said, “Your voice is very familiar.”

“What do you mean?” I asked, worried he might discover my secret, “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

And with that I flew off into the night, leaving Drake behind staring after me.

My best friend was a super. I couldn’t believe it but my best friend, Carson Smith, was the Winged Warrior. I knew it as soon as I saw him up close, the hair, the jaw, the brow, the voice, and just his frame.

It also made sense, being late for everything, or just not showing up, the feathers everywhere, the bulky jacket, and all sorts of other things that could not be explained otherwise.

Oh, wait, sorry, my name is Drake, Drake Anderson. And I was your average 17-year-old teenage boy. I was moderately tall with black hair and fiery green eyes, a slightly tan complexion, and a medium frame. My BFE (Best Friend Eternal) was also 17 and he was very tall with blond hair and blue eyes, a very tanned complexion (he suntans a lot), and quite broad shoulders. We live across the street from each other in the Nero City suburbs, we both go to school at Nexus High, and we both share an interest in video games. Now that we have introductions out of the way, let me explain exactly how I figured out that Carson was a super.

It all started the day before the fire. I was at my school, which, as you probably remember, was Nexus High. It was the biggest high school in the state.

And it started as a normal morning. I was walking to class and Carson shouted out a greeting and ran up and started walking beside me. He looked really tired and had dark circles under his eyes, so, curious, I asked him why he looked so tired.

“I was up all night last night working on homework.” He answered.

Strange. I thought. Carson almost always does his homework early.

And the thing is this had been happening a lot lately, about the time the Winged Warrior showed up, but, of course, I hadn’t come to this conclusion yet, but we are getting to that.

Then later that day at lunch came another suspicious instance. The cafeteria has a big screen tv so everyone can watch tv if they want while eating lunch. It was one such lunchtime and Carson (we always sat together) was paying an awful lot of attention to the news report of a dad and his son being trapped in a car that was hanging over the edge of a cliff. So I commented on this saying,

“Hey Carson, stop worrying about the news. It’s not like you can do anything about it.”

“I have to go to the bathroom,” he said. And then he just ran off to the bathroom leaving behind a very confused me.

And, as I was watching the news a few minutes later, the Winged Warrior had shown up and was saving the day. This made me very suspicious that the only after Carson left for the bathroom did the Winged Warrior show up. It was while I was in deliberation that Bethany walked up.

“Hi Drake,” she said. “I was wondering if you could help me out.”

“With what?” I asked, interested.

“My chemistry project. I need a third person. Jackson already agreed to help, but I need someone else for what I have planned.”

“And what is it that you have planned?” I asked.

“Let’s just say… it’s going to blow Mrs. Haragan’s (the chemistry teacher) mind.”

Now, before we continue with this conversation, let me tell you about Bethany. She was a straight-A student who also came up with really wacky ideas, and also she was very tall with straight, brown hair and green eyes.

“Is the only reason Jackson agreed to this because he was doing so bad with his grades and needed a carry?” I asked.

“Well, yes actually and I felt sorry for him which is why I let him join the team, and because I needed the extra hands.” She replied, “But I need someone with more brains to help me as well because Jackson doesn’t know the difference between hydrogen peroxide and dihydrogen monoxide.”

“What’s in it for me?” I asked.

“Simple, you help me, we both get As.”

This was actually pretty likely since no matter how crazy the project she still always managed to impress the teacher and get an A.

So I agreed, saying: “Alright, I’ll do it. When do we start?”

“Tomorrow, after school, I convinced Mrs. Haragan to allow me to use the lab in the school.”

“Wow, you must be very persuasive then,” I remarked.

“Well, I did convince you to do this didn’t I?” She replied. “But nevermind. Just be there, ok?”

“I will,” I promised.

And with that, she walked briskly away.

“Well, I sure hope I haven’t agreed to something I will regret,” I said to myself after she left. Now, don’t get me wrong, but Bethany sometimes did things that were just a bit, crazy, but she wasn’t completely foolish, so I wasn’t really that worried. Although I probably should have been.

--

--

Firestryke
Universe Factory

A fire-obsessed gamer who loves art and making up stories. Also very geeky