Fix the ESP-32S shorted circuits. A little fool’s story

Alexzander Purwoko
Universitas Komputer Indonesia
4 min readApr 27, 2020
My ESP-32S fixed board from short circuit.

Before start reading, I’m sorry if you find any bad grammar with my english. I’m so bad in its languages :). And this is my first article on Medium. I’m happy to see when you love this article… Ckckckckc

Above image is my fixed ESP-32S. Both of them are circuit on the ground. My first ESP-32 is shorted when placing the cable on breadboard (Copper wire accidentally touch the internal circuits) and the second one is when I want to measure ampere with Multimeter (the cable tester accidentally create a short connection with the ground). It was my fucking experiment, and confusing to fix them.

But, powering with external sources (with batteries) it’s done. And i try to look around what the problem is by multimeter. The problem is came again and my ESP-32 is fully dead :( . Now, the indicator lamp is dead (because shorted again on grounding lamp)

I was researched on Google, but the discuss is saying to bought the new one :( “Its just a $5 man, better is purchase a new rather than fixing”. Yeah, at my first shorted esp32, I purchased new one :( because I start the temperature app projects and the deadline is come. You can know what my feelings on that day. I was confused and headache come around.

I tell to my friends about this issue and we discuss together what we can do next, start new ideas or anything (because i don’t have some money to buy). My friend’s just said “Deadline comes. I want this project is finished. Please tell me where you buying that? I’ll help you with my money”

Yeah, I’m look at the online stores. It’s found and I start to buy, then send a screenshot of detail transaction of it to my friends. A new ESP-32S come to my home in a few days and the projects finished. Many thanks to @blank15, it was helpful :)

After a many days, I want to make experiment with new circuit. As i have tell above, the circuits is shorted again. Fool! I‘m so dizzy, think that what my friend said if know it was damaged :) . I start researched again and don’t know to do. It’s my bad experiences huh :(

After that, my ideas is to try to fix my first circuit board. I’m powering on with external sources, I do many connection test to my computer. And the ESP-32S is booted.

Wake up with the Arduino 5V output voltage (on my second board)

I think that is a problem of voltage regulator from USB. I find the schematic on Google and found it :

Let’s look at the Power Sources. External Sources can supply with the direct connection with AMS1117. You can try to measure the voltage OUT and in with the multimeter. If the OUT from AMS1117 or 3V3 pinout is equal or under 3.3V (under 3.2V tolerance) it cannot powered up the chips. But, in this section is 3.3V (3.2xxV output) so it’s fine (chip can booted).

Yes, you can see that the problem is not in AMS1117 chip ( I was think that it is the problem before bought the new chip) but that is the Diode problem.

This is the Diode. Looks smaller

The Zener Diode (Zoomed)

This Diode is used to make the voltage is stable when powering from the USB. But the problem is this diode it’s intolerant with short circuit. So, made a bypass or jumper along that it will be fine.

Amazing! It worked (test by blinking the internal LED). I’m sorry if the RED LED (which indicates powered on) is dead :)

I’m sorry if not upload the testing images (with multimeter) because at that time, i don’t think to shares this article :)

After thinking a much solution, which replace a component or jumpering. Consider to jumper, because the component is not available on my area. And its available on online store (it’s bad idea to bought exactly just one or two).

So i put off the component and make a new connection on that.

ESP-32S with jumpered connection

Now, the problem is fixed. Think try to fix them rather than buy a new one, because you can learn anythings from that.

You can share this post or like if you loved. At the end, as i said above i’m sorry if my english is bad. Thanks :)

--

--