New Year’s Resolutions

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readDec 31, 2022

I am always the person to have a bunch of New Year’s resolutions. I typically am good at following the simple ones like drinking more water, journaling every night, and waking up at a certain time. I can keep those resolutions for about a month before I lose it, but the ones I can never get myself to keep are the ones that I care most about. Resolutions like cleaning my room everyday, eating 3 meals a day, and spending time off of the internet.

Why is it that the most important resolutions are always the hardest to follow? Could it be that the simple ones feel like a game? It’s simple to fill my water bottle 3 times a day but difficult to eat a meal 3 times a day. I can write a short summary about my day in a few minutes but struggle to spend more than an hour without checking my phone. What will it take for me to finally make a resolution that will stick?

This year I struggled with the common fear that I am boring. I saw all my friends spending their free time painting, reading, and crocheting. But I don’t particularly like doing any of those things and don’t think I have too many hobbies. I like walking around outside, but that’s hard to do in 10°F and snow. I like listening to music and making playlists but that’s more time spent on my laptop. I like writing but I feel like I always run out of things to write about. This year I want to find some hobbies that I can enjoy on my own. I want to spend more time getting to know myself and what I’m interested in.

This is my only resolution for this new year. Many people have the idea of becoming a new person for new years, but I’m dedicating this year to getting to know who I really am and exploring my thus far unknown interests.

--

--