Sad Meals

K. Canopy
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readJan 19, 2023

Say you worked on homework through dinner, and now your dining hall’s closed. Say you get up late and need to get to class. In honor of our recent liberation from school, I thought I would share and rate some meals that I have eaten over the past three years when I’ve been in those situations. I guess I should call them “sad meals,” because I really do not think I was better off after eating these. Please, don’t follow my example, and eat actual food for dinner.

Unsalted peanuts ★★★☆☆

I actually got into these after I learned I was anemic. Peanuts contain high levels of non-heme iron, so onto the shopping list they went. They’re pretty good as a snack, but can be messy. Don’t type and eat peanuts, for instance. And don’t eat a handful in your room at eight and call that dinner. It’s not very filling.

Tea (no milk) ★★★★★

I’m giving this five stars, because despite what you might think, the physical effects of drinking tea for breakfast aren’t that bad. Sure, there’s hand tremors, but the lightheadedness is really minimal. And it’s pretty filling.

Tea latte (with milk) ★★☆☆☆

Yeah, don’t drink tea with milk on an empty stomach having taken iron pills the night before. It’s not fun. The two stars are for the flavor, not for what happens afterward.

Espresso latte ★★☆☆☆

Ditto for this latte. Add in espresso jitteriness, and it’s really not a fun time.

Spoonfuls of JIF Reduced Fat Peanut Butter ★★★★★

JIF Reduced Fat Peanut Butter is head and shoulders above all other peanut butter. All others go in recipes. Crunchy can sometimes be put on bread, if I want something different. It was very hard for me when stores didn’t have this during Covid. After three spoonfuls, I get kinda nauseous, but those three are superb. The best part is when you open the container and get that nice peanut butter smell. Note: don’t keep the spoon in the jar.

Ice cream ★★★★☆

Okay, I will admit to having had ice cream for dinner. And for lunch. And it is a fun time, but of course, not good for me.

Sleep ★☆☆☆☆

Yeah, I’ve skipped dinner, ignored my hunger, and just gone to bed. It’s not fun.

These are some of the food-based bad choices I’ve made. Please, feel free to share your own “sad meals.”

--

--

K. Canopy
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Junior studying Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.