Sarah and the Sundays’ Album “The Living End (Deluxe)”

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readDec 1, 2022

One of my favorite bands, Sarah and the Sundays, released the album “The Living End” last year and has a mix of many types of songs that are worth many listens. This indie-rock band explore many different feelings and shows us the range of their music through this album.

My favorite song on the album is “Time Well Wasted.” I interpret this song as looking back on a past relationship of some kind that was forced to an end due to mental health or some outside source. The actual music and instrumental part of this song is so beautiful to me and really helps move along the piece. This song reflects the feeling of wasting time but not regretting the time wasted:

“It’s time well wasted
It’s time we take another look at the picture we painted
I know you’re sick and tired of all of the shit I’ve been saying
It’s a hell I’ve been raising it’s a war I’ve been waging
It’s time I faced it
I’m not getting any younger hanging out in the basement
And I’ll be here by your side until you find a replacement
And I don’t wanna say it but I know that we’re changing”

The first fan favorite of the album is “Vices.” The song tricks you in the beginning by sounding very cold and sad but then surprises you by being upbeat and empowering. This song is about throwing away the bad things and letting life go on:

“I’ve thrown my vices to the wind
I’m better than I was
I’ve been in crisis since the crib
I’ve been painfully impulsive
But ambitious
Only life’s
Repetitious
As it is”

The second fan favorite of the album is “I’m So Bored.” This song could be seen as the experience during the 2020 lockdown for the COVID-19 pandemic. They sing about how they are “tired of waiting,” long days of waiting, and losing motivation. In the bridge they sing about longing to go back to normal life:

“I wanna go outside again
I wanna see the light again
I wanna feel right again
I wanna feel good today
I wish I could go away
I wish you would go away”

This album ranges from sad songs to cry to all the way to songs to scream in the car. Sarah and the Sundays is still an upcoming indie-rock band that has other popular songs you may have heard like “Moving On” and “Ruby Fields” from their album “So You’re Mad About the Cups.” You can click HERE to find a link to a YouTube playlist for this album, “The Living End.”

--

--