Conan Gray’s Heartbreak in “Superache”

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readOct 1, 2022

Conan Gray released his second album on June 24, 2022. This album has a mix of previously released singles along with brand new songs. The songs range from struggles with family and breakups to acceptance and friendship.

My favorite song on the album, although it was already previously released as a single, is “Jigsaw.” At the beginning of this year I already wrote a piece on “Jigsaw,” but it wasn’t until I kept listening to this song when I realized I interpreted it from a relationship point of view instead of how it was written, based on family problems. This song is a heavy letter to Gray’s father about how everything Gray did to please his father was still never enough.

My favorite song amongst the newly released songs is “The Exit.” This song is about the struggle of having a past partner move on while you haven’t yet. Gray sets the scene so well by writing direct events that make the heartbreak even more real. The drama and background vocals in this song really makes it stand out against the others for me. The chorus is so well written and perfectly shows how Gray finally realizes how there is no more hope for this relationship:

“You love her, it’s over
Do you even doubt it on your lips? (When you say it, say it)
You love her, it’s over
You already found someonе to miss
While I’m still standin’ at the exit (Oh-oh, oh-oh-oh)
I’m still standin’ at thе exit (Oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh, oh)”

The fan favorite of the newly released songs is “Family Line.” This song is about Gray’s parental problems. Gray writes about the suffering he went through while trying to please his parents. His family caused him so much pain that he can’t forget in his adult life. The bridge of this song stands out the most and holds the most meaning in my opinion:

“Oh-oh
All that I did to try to undo it
All of my pain and all your excuses
I was a kid, but I wasn’t clueless
(Someone who loves you wouldn’t do this)
All of my past, I tried to erase it
But now I see, would I even change it?
Might share a face and share a last name but
(We are not the same, same)”

Conan Gray’s album, “Superache,” tackles various problems that everyone can relate to. Gray is known for his storytelling through his music and has continued his art throughout this album. This album is filled mostly with sad songs, however there are a few that you can be upbeat and dance to. Attached HERE is the YouTube playlist for “Superache” with a few music videos and lyric videos for every song.

--

--