The Best “Hopeless Romantic” Songs

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readApr 15, 2022
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

I am such a hopeless romantic. I love hearing about cheesey moments in relationships, the inside jokes, and the small things that remind you of your significant other. These 3 songs are my current favorite songs to make me feel like I’m the main character in a love story.

Fool For You by Snoh Aalegra

This song makes me feel like I’m falling head-over-heels for someone. I think of feeling at home with someone and wanting to do everything for that person. Choosing this person over and over again, not being able to leave the comfort of them.

Hey Lover! by Wabie

This song only asks for “true love and understanding.” It says that you’re perfect the way you are and you don’t need to change anything for your partner. It only asks for the basics in a relationship and cherishes the small things.

Line Without a Hook by Ricky Montgomery

This is one of my all time favorite songs because of how lyrically beautiful it is. It is full of metaphors relating to longing for love. Once they find their person they don’t want to live without them.

As of right now, these are my top 3 songs when I want to feel like the main character in a love story. There are plenty of other songs by Rex Orange County or Joshua Bassett that have more amazing love songs, but these ones take the cake!

--

--