To the Unknown Civil Engineer Who Laid Out the Via Domitia

K. Canopy
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readMar 20, 2023
Chariot ruts in the Via Domitia near Gallargues-le-Montueux in the south of France.

For Engineers Week, 2023

The Via Domitia was laid out around 118 BC, after the Roman conquest of southern France. It runs from Briancon, France to La Junquera, Spain, and is one of the oldest known Roman roads. Parts of it are still in use today.

I

What have I to do with you, O Roman?

I cannot stretch out my hand through the centuries and clasp yours,

And yours would never have grasped mine in life.

You are unreachable and unknown to me, as I am to you.

There is only this:

I can touch your work

And

I follow in your footsteps.

II

Those long days in Gallia Transalpina, did they sap your strength, Roman?

And at night, did you dream of stones marching down to Spain like your legions?

You must have given yourself to your road.

Some of you in the fossa

Some of you in the statumen

And the rest between the knives’ edges of the summa crusta.

What need for the sacrifice of bulls or Greeks and Gauls?

III

Did you want to make something that lasted, something to be proud of?

And did you love the road when you were done

Did you say look at my work, look at what I have done,

I have made something to be proud of.

Something that will last.

--

--

K. Canopy
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Junior studying Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.