Wallows’ Newest Album: “Tell Me That It’s Over”

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2 min readDec 1, 2022

Popular alternative rock band Wallows released an album earlier this year titled “Tell Me That It’s Over.” There is not a bad song on this album so it was very hard for me to pick my favorites. There are songs that are perfect for every type of mood.

My favorite song on the album is “At the End of the Day,” the third and last single released from the album. It’s about being in a relationship and giving it everything even though you fear that it might not last forever. Within the song, Braeden Lemasters sings about how he and this person have good memories together and always have a good time while remembering there are still doubts of the relationship. In the chorus, he sings about how much he cares about this person and relationship, but will end the relationship if it means his person will be happier:

“At the end of the day
I’m not far away, I’m staying
A face in the crowd
When you’re not around that’s fading
If you wanted I would never call you
Never think about you or never let you go
But at the end of the day
Are we on our way to breaking”

The fan favorite on the album is “I Don’t Want to Talk,” the first single released from the album. It’s about having insecurities mainly in relationships. The title ties into the chorus with saying that they just want clear answers as to where this relationship stands. The bridge, sang by Braeden Lemasters and Dylan Minnette, is about a person outside of the relationship that makes them insecure. They sing that this person confirm their insecurities by saying how he’s “your type” and is overall cooler. They are sad about the loss of this relationship and are upset that their insecurities got the best of them:

“Feeling like my mind’s wiped, he looks more like your type
If I leave you tonight, will he leave your eyes wide?
Bet he didn’t think first when he did a crowd surf
Effortlessly expert, attention grabber
Don’t usually cry, but looks like that’s over
I start to lose sight of myself and I wish I could shut it
Wish I could shut it off”

This album has been on repeat for me since it came out. I think that all of the songs range from classic Wallows songs to being very unique while staying true to their style. This album is very fun and feels perfect for this fall into winter season. If you are interested in listening to the other songs in the album, (my next recommendations are “Permanent Price” and “Hurts Me”), click HERE for a link to a YouTube playlist with the whole album.

--

--