What Do I Say Now?

Julia Ong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1 min readJan 30, 2023

I’ve run out of words to say, stories to write, songs to sing.

I stare out my bedroom window watching the cars slowly trickle out of the parking lot by 6 PM.

I look around my room and I see clutter.

Socks out of the drawers and folders and papers sprawled out over my bed.

My little rug that I love so much is covered in hair and scraps of paper I can’t bother to pick up.

People walk past my window with their heads down and hoods up.

They have nothing to say.

I sat alone in my room switching from chair to bed to chair to toilet to bed to chair and I can’t wait to get back into bed.

I turn my laptop brightness down as I can’t stare at this screen any longer.

I can’t take it.

I haven’t spoken any words today.

I can’t relate to the people who live for the rush and have every obligation to fulfill their daily lives.

But I’m still sitting in the same seats I’ve been all day.

Stuck in the same bedroom watching the same cars leave that same parking lot.

But people are coming home now.

They lived their lives, have stories from hours ago that they just can’t wait to share.

But I haven’t spoken any words today.

So I’ll just listen

because I have no words to say, stories to write, or songs to sing.

--

--