Moving to Leeds

University of Leeds
University of Leeds
7 min readJul 9, 2019

Each year, thousands of students make the journey to Leeds to study from all over the world. We’re celebrating the diversity of the student community at the University of Leeds. Through a compilation of photographs and interview material, this explores international students’ journeys and experiences of living in the city.

From first impressions to future career aspirations, we aim to capture these students’ stories, sharing their favourite places and feelings for a place that for many has become a home away from home.

Doa’a from Palestine

Doa’a from Palestine (MA Conflict Development and Security)

I was amused and very excited when I’d just arrived in Leeds. I am not used to such an active ambience in my country. I like walking around the city centre, visiting museums and travelling to the countryside. I just like the fresh air and green valleys in Leeds.

All these times here, memories, kind hearts, friends from the intercultural group, students and teachers from my school and the University will make my living easier when I go back. I feel like Leeds is a part of me. It’s my home in the UK.

Fanni from Hungary

Fanni from Hungary (BA Sociology and International Relations)

I love the student life here. I’ve seen that this university is so concentrated on that. I really doubt that I’d be able to get this experience elsewhere.

I find the most interesting place in Leeds to be the Corn Exchange. I have a couple of good memories from there. It’s a place I’ve often visited with my sister and I have got Christmas presents for my family from there.

Eleni from Greece

Eleni from Greece (BA History of Art)

When I first arrived in Leeds it was raining, Victorian. It was a very stereotypical impression of England.

I decided to come to Leeds because of a change of career. I’d been working as an English tutor and I decided I wanted to do something different. My Masters would be Social History of Art and I’m going to look for a job in the heritage sector.

Anastasia from Russia/Belgium

Anastasia from Russia/Belgium (BSc Geography)

I’m in love with life here now! It’s a good university, I’ve got great roommates, and the architecture is so impressive. It’s such a big city, way bigger than Brussels, where I’m from.

Ibrahim from Cyprus

Ibrahim from Cyprus (BA Fine Art with History of Art)

Because you’re away from home, you realise the worth of your culture and become more connected to it. Now I’m more interested in Mediterranean and Oriental arts and cultures — maybe I can Master in it, and then teach art history in Cyprus as arts in Cyprus are not fully developed and they need an art historian.

When you are here and miss home, you really need those objects to remind you of the essence of your identity.

Zhujing from China

Zhujing from China (MA New Media)

I think the University of Leeds campus is very beautiful, especially our school, the School of Media and Communication. It’s like Harry Potter. My favourite place in Leeds is the art gallery because I really love the paintings and sculptures. I enjoy watching them and they make me think.

Ran from China

Ran from China (MA Advertising and Marketing)

I think a favourite place in Leeds for me is the student accommodation, Central Village, because that’s the first place I lived in Leeds. I came here in July, last year. I have so many happy memories from there from when I came to Leeds in July.

Before I arrived, I only knew what Leeds would be like according to others. It sounded like a big city, but after I came here, I found I can get wherever I want, so it’s quite convenient. I didn’t think there would be many places to have fun. But actually, there are!

Shun from Japan

Shun from Japan (International Relations)

Before arriving in Leeds, my imagination was that Leeds would be like the countryside. I didn’t expect there would be lots of shops or many buildings.

Last year one of the members of the Japanese Imperial Family came to Leeds to study for one year. This seemed to prove that Leeds is a really safe place to learn. So, I decided to come here.

I like the Global Café in Leeds, in the Leeds University Union. I have met many international students there and made lots of friends from other countries.

Dante from Peru

Dante from Peru (MA Global Development)

I really like the green areas of Leeds like Roundhay Park. Roundhay Park is very special to me. When I entered the park for first time, I really wished that my son could be with me, because he loves parks. It was very emotional.

Coming here has given me a wider view about the challenges of our world and my country. I want to go back to Peru to continue work for the wellbeing of my society. I am part of a generation who want to make a positive change in our society. For that reason, I will go back for my family, for my country, to continue to work for them.

Maria from Italy

Maria from Italy (MA Social History of Art)

The North of England is like the South of Italy where my family is from, so I really recognise lots of people’s mentality. I like how open they are. One thing that really struck me was the inclusivity. The fact that they rearrange exams for Muslim people during Ramadan, all the gender-neutral toilets. They might seem little things, but they demonstrate a lot of inclusivity. And also, across the street so many cultures, so many religions. It’s like fresh air.

Lixia from China

Lixia from China (Visiting Researcher)

At first I had never considered staying in Leeds. However, the longer I spend here I’ve found the more I love it. I love Leeds and I will consider staying here. I especially love the people. When I arrived I felt homesick and lonely but the people here are really nice and helped me conquer those feelings. To remind myself of home I brought a handkerchief made from silk. My hometown is Hunan province. In my hometown the handicraft of silk is very famous and very beautiful and elegant.

Simona from Bulgaria

Simona from Bulgaria (BA Fine Art with History of Art)

When I first came to Leeds, I was quite scared even though the town is great. It’s very pretty and reminds me of my hometown, but I was scared because I was all alone. I’ve never been by myself before and I had to rely on myself. After my time in Leeds I’m planning to go back to Bulgaria and see if I can somehow become part of the educational system and make a change.

Jessica from Taiwan

Jessica from Taiwan (International Marketing Management)

I think my favourite place is Kirkgate Market because you can get fresh vegetables and fruit there. At home we have markets in the nearby neighbourhoods so we can go there every day in the morning, or in the early afternoon. We also have lots of night markets where we can buy lots of clothes and accessories …we can eat there, and we can also play games. That’s why I like Kirkgate Market, because it kind of reminds me of home.

Akash from India

Akash from India (MA Conflict Development and Security)

To remind myself of home I brought with me a kazoo, an old African instrument. This reminds me of home because I used to make music at home. I’m a percussionist and I sing. Making music is a really good way to relax and a good creative outlet. On the kazoo you can play any kind of music you want — anything from classical Indian music to modern pop songs.

Violet from Nigeria

Violet from Nigeria (International Business)

I have a great interest in comics, so I was so excited to see the store ‘Forbidden Planet’! It’s really my favourite place in the city. I’ve visited Leeds before, but now that I live and study here, I have been able to have a better experience of the city. I’ve noticed that the people here are actually really friendly and welcoming and it’s so easy to get around!

A global community

Get to know people from over 170 different countries as part of our global community. Why not find an opportunity to learn a language, become an ambassador, take part in groups, festivals, trips or find an exchange partner?

Find out more about our global community.

If you’re new to the University, you can find out more about feeling at home in Leeds, or follow us on our current student Facebook and student Twitter.

These photographs and stories were collected for an exhibition in Leeds City Museum by a team of University of Leeds Intercultural Ambassadors — Arijit Das, Ayomikun Sonuga, Georgia Robson, Weronika Tupaj and Niu Xuejing.

--

--