My transformative journey to the United Nations Global Indigenous Youth Forum in Rome

University of Leeds
University of Leeds
5 min readJan 30, 2024

My name is Ayelen, I am Diaguita, from Argentina. I am a community manager and a poet. The University of Leeds supported my participation in the United Nations Global Indigenous Youth Forum in Rome in October 2023.

Water weaves through my soul, and as you read this account I will be editing the footage that I filmed at the event with the question of why water preservation is so crucial for indigenous youth.

A person holding and playing a tambor drum and singing. Another person next to them is holding a microphone up to capture their performance
Ayelen (left in photo) played the tambor drum and sang at the United Nations Global Indigenous Youth Forum.

This article is a translation from an original piece written in Spanish, which you can view further down the page.

From the moment I set foot in Rome, I felt an echo in my heart, a call to action.

I carried with me the stories of my sisters, and their voices intermingled with mine. In the Forum, I found that we are all rivers that flow towards the same sea. As a wise brother shared with us, water is an ancient sprit that lives in each of us, as we are, in essence, water.

The Forum connected me with kindred souls, young people whose dreams are woven from the same threads of hope, with powerful women from all over the world.

In this confluence space, we came together to express our ‘food vision’ and to highlight that we deserve the food that we inherited from our grandparents.

Institutions like the University of Leeds supported me with love and hope, demonstrating that our success is vital for the world.

A person is speaking to another person who is filming them using a mobile phone, while stood on a street.
Ayelen (right) interviewed other indigenous young people about the importance of water preservation at the UN Forum.

As I write this, I realise that this purpose is driving me on to complete my degree and press ahead with my plan to spread the word via social media where the unique harmonies of indigenous voices can be heard.

The panels and conversations that took place at the Forum resonated like ancient songs in my soul. These conversations took place in a variety of languages, allowing us to connect despite all speaking different tongues.

I am currently working on exploring why young indigenous people see the preservation of water as a vital mission.

Also at the event, young people from Latin America and the Caribbean, or as we call it, Abya Yala, sent a clear message and a compelling suggestion on the rejection of extractivism and systems that exploit our mother nature. There is also a strong need to form parts of decision-making spaces where we can voice our opinions on policies that directly affect us as sentient, thoughtful young people.

My trip to Rome, and my participation in the United Nations Global Indigenous Youth Forum has been more than a transformational experience; it has marked the rebirth of my soul and an echo that resonates in my being. As I move on with my studies, projects and activities, I know that my existence is intertwined with a purpose: that of preserving our cultural heritage for generations to come.

I hope that this article might inspire other young people and institutions to continue supporting our initiatives.

Change starts with us, and the future is ours to shape!

Ayelen Granero was part of a delegation that attended the 2023 Biennial United Nations Global Indigenous Youth Form (UNGIYF), alongside other Indigenous young people, the Indigenous Peoples Observatory Network (IPON) and Professor James Ford from the University of Leeds, who works with IPON to better understand and respond to threats facing indigenous communities globally.

Mi Viaje Transformador al Foro Mundial de Jóvenes Indígenas de las Naciones Unidas en Roma

Soy Ayelen soy diaguita de Argentina. Soy community manager y coplera. La Universidad de Leeds me brindó su apoyo para participar en el Foro Mundial de Jóvenes Indígenas de las Naciones Unidas en Roma en octubre de 2023.

Mi alma se teje con las aguas, y mientras lean este relato yo estaré editando el material que filme con la pregunta de por qué la preservación de las aguas es crucial para la juventud indígena.

Desde el momento en que mi pie tocó Roma, sentí un eco en mi corazón, un llamada a la acción.

Llevé conmigo las historias de mis hermanas y sus voces se entrelazaron con las mías. En el Foro, descubrí que somos todos ríos que fluyen hacia el mismo océano. Como un sabio hermano compartió, el agua es un espíritu antiguo que vive en cada uno de nosotros, pues somos, en esencia, agua.

El Foro me conectó con almas afines, jóvenes con sueños tejidos en los mismos hilos de esperanza, con mujeres poderosas de todos los territorios.

En este espacio de confluencia, nos unimos para expresar nuestra visión alimentaria y para dejar en claro que somos merecedores de la alimentación que nos heredaron nuestros abuelos.

Instituciones, como la Universidad de Leeds, me respaldaron con amor y esperanza, mostrando que nuestro éxito es vital para el mundo.

Mientras edito este relato, me doy cuenta de que el propósito me impulsa a completar mi titulación y a llevar adelante mi proyecto de difusión a través de redes sociales donde las armonías únicas de las voces indígenas sean escuchadas

Los paneles y las conversaciones que se celebraron en el Foro resonaron como antiguos cantos en mi alma. Esas conversaciones se transmitieron en distintas lenguas permitiendo que nos pudiéramos conectar a pesar de hablar todos idiomas diferentes.

En estos días estoy trabajando en explorar por qué la juventud indígena ve la preservación de las aguas como una misión vital.

Por otro lado Latinoamérica y el caribe o como nosotros le decimos el Abya yala dejo un mensaje claro y una sugerencia contundente respecto al rechazo al extractivismo y a los sistemas de explotación de nuestra madre naturaleza. También una fuerte necesidad de formar parte de espacios de toma de decisiones donde poder volcar nuestras opiniones acerca de las políticas que nos afectan directamente como jóvenes sentipensantes.

Mi viaje a Roma y mi participación en el Foro Mundial de Jóvenes Indígenas de las Naciones Unidas han sido más que una experiencia transformadora; han sido un renacimiento de mi alma y un eco que resuena en mi ser. Mientras avanzo en mis estudios, proyectos y actividades, sé que mi existencia está entrelazada con el propósito de preservar nuestra herencia cultural para las generaciones venideras.

Espero que este artículo inspire a otros jóvenes y a las instituciones a continuar apoyando nuestras iniciativas.

¡El cambio comienza con nosotros, y el futuro es nuestro para moldear!

--

--