Brenda Maytorena Lara

Age: 20

Hometown: Sidney, Neb.

Current Residence: Lincoln, Neb.

Birth Date: July 2, 1999

Major(s): Broadcasting production and French

Clubs/Activities: The Daily Nebraskan Photographer/ Videographer, HuskerVision Intern, Chi Omega sorority

Lifestyle and General Interest Profile:

  • I love traveling. I have been to seven countries outside of the US.
  • I was born in Puebla, Puebla, Mexico.
  • I love language learning and hope to know at least five languages.
  • I want to do documentary work.

Academic Recap (What you’ve done so far and why you enrolled in this class):

I began college as a communication studies major then declared global studies and a French minor. I finally ended on broadcasting production and French double major. I have loved my broadcasting production classes so far. I studied abroad a summer in France and plan to go back to study French for a semester.

I took the photojournalism class as a “what the heck, why not” elective and it completely changed my perspective. I now love photography and could not see my life without it. I enrolled in this class because documentary work is what my dream career is. I love experiencing the cultures of others, getting a glimpse of their perspectives, and hearing their stories, which I believe all have a right to be told.

Social Channels:

Twitter: @brenda_may_

Instagram: @brenda_may_

Facebook: Brenda Maytorena Lara

--

--

Brenda Maytorena Lara
University of Nebraska Lincoln: Global Eyewitness Rwanda

I am a third year broadcasting production and French double major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.